Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Yale Library COVID-19 updates.

WGSS 365: Gender, Justice and the Environment: WGSS380- Gender, Sexuality & Pop Culture

Locating background materials

After identifying the street and time that you will use for your research project, you will need to do background research to properly situate it. Part of this is discovering how life was in that area during that time period. There are a number of resources that you can use to do this. Some of these are primary source materials (or materials that are actually *from* that period) and some are secondary which describe events, people, culture, etc.. Both of these are important.

Secondary resources

JSTOR - Digital archive that provides access to full text journals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences

Historical Abstracts - indexes and provides some full text to articles from around the world excluding Canada and the United States; covers 1450 - present

Periodicals Archives Online - full text archives to periodicals; covers 1802-1995

Primary resources

Godey's Lady's Book - Covers 1830-1880 with a U.S. focus on popular culture of that era; includes fashion plates and other illustrations

Gerritsen Collection - These materials span four centuries and 15 languages from 1543-1945.

Sex and Sexuality, 1640-1940: Literary, Medical and Sociological Perspectives - Film B18917

Web sites

The following is a list of web sites about global organizations related to women's issues.

For additional resources on popular culture and mass media, try this resource guide.

Locating visual resources

Yale University provides access to a wide array of digital resources and images. Carolyn Caizzi, Visual Resources Specialist, created an online guide to support research in this field. Contact Carolyn directly at carolyn.caizzi [at] yale.edu or 432.4632 for further assistance.

Of interest

If you're interested in reading more about visual representation, gender and/or popular culture, here are a few articles that you might want to look at. All of them are available online by going to the online journal locator and searching under the title of the journal.

During, Simon.  (Summer 1997). Popular Culture on a Global Scale: A Challenge for Cultural Studies? Critical Inquiry, 23.4, 808-833.

Eisner, Elliot W. (August 1997).  The Promise and Perils of Alternative Forms of Data Representation.  Educational Researcher, 26, 4-10.

Fischman, Gustavo E.  (November 1, 2001). Reflections About Images, Visual Culture, and Educational Research. Educational Researcher, 30:28-33.

Smyth, A. M., Parker, A. L. & Pease, D. L. (2002). A study of enjoyment of peas. Journal of Abnormal Eating, 8(3), 120-125.

Woo, Yen Yen Joyceln.  (2008). Engaging New Audiences: Translating Research into Popular Media. Educational Researcher, 37.6, 321-329.