Archive of USGS Web ContentThe USGS Web Content Archive contains scientific information websites formerly maintained by the U.S. Geological Survey. The USGS serves the Nation by providing reliable scientific information to describe and understand the Earth; minimize loss of life and property from natural disasters; manage water, biological, energy, and mineral resources; and enhance and protect our quality of life.
Climate TRACEIndependent greenhouse gas emissions tracking. Downloadable data.
Data Is Plural - Structured ArchiveThis is a comprehensive spreadsheet of all data sets promoted by Data Is Plural, going back to October 2015. A number of them are related to environmental issues. The spreadsheet is searchable using Ctrl F.
International Environmental AgreementsThe IEA Database Project includes data on >1500 Bilateral, >1200 Multilateral, and >240 Other Environmental Agreements
Our World in Data"Research and data to make progress against the world’s largest problems."
Resource WatchResource Watch features hundreds of data sets all in one place on the state of the planet’s resources and citizens. Users can visualize challenges facing people and the planet, from climate change to poverty, water risk to state instability, air pollution to human migration, and more.
U.S. Government's Open Data AKA data.govThe home of the U.S. Government's open data
-Agriculture - Business - Climate - Consumer - Ecosystems - Education - Energy - Finance - Health - Local Government - Manufacturing - Ocean - Public Safety - Science & Research
-Source for data, tools, and resources to conduct research, design data visualizations.... over 195,000 datasets (April 2016).
United Nations Environment Programme: Environmental Data Explorer"Authoritative source for data sets used by UNEP and its partners in the Global Environment Outlook (GEO) report and other integrated environment assessments. Levels from International - National - Subregional - Regional
Global Energy Statistical YearbookThe Global Energy Statistical Yearbook is a Enerdata's free online interactive data tool. It allows to browse data through intuitive maps and graphs, for a visual analysis of the latest trends in the energy industry.
International Renewable Energy Agency - Data & StatisticsIRENA publishes detailed statistics on renewable energy capacity, power generation and renewable energy balances. This data is collected directly from members using the IRENA Renewable Energy Statistics questionnaire and is also supplemented by desk research where official statistics are not available. Renewable power-generation capacity statistics are released annually in March. Additionally, renewable power generation and renewable energy balances data sets are released in July.
CCAM: Climate Change and the American MindThese graphs illustrate national public opinion over time and across several sociodemographic variables, as well as political views, to show the diversity of Americans’ views on climate change and how much Americans engage with the issue. From the Yale Program on Climate Change Communication.
Climate DataA collection of the most important "general" datasets on climate change, hosted by DataHub.
National Center for Atmospheric Research: Climate Data GuideSearch and access 211 data sets covering the Atmosphere, Ocean, Land and more. Explore climate indices, reanalyses and satellite data and understand their application to climate model metrics. This is the only data portal that combines data discovery, metadata, figures and world-class expertise on the strengths, limitations and applications of climate data.
Audubon Christmas Bird CountThe Audubon Society Christmas Bird Count started in 1900. This data resource is international in scope, but heavily North American.
Food & Agricultural Organization: CountrySTATFrom the Food and Agricultural Organization of the United Nations. CountrySTAT is a web-based information system for food and agriculture statistics at regional, national and subnational levels. The objective of CountrySTAT is to improve access to food and agricultural statistics.
Gro IntelligenceSource for free agricultural data (sign up required).
Historical Land-Cover Change and Land-Use Conversions Global DatasetA set of three estimates of land-cover types and annual transformations of land use are provided on a global 0.5 x0.5 degree lat/lon grid at annual time steps. The longest of the three estimates spans 1770-2010.
History Database of the Global EnvironmentFrom the PBL Netherlands Environmental Assessment Agency. HYDE presents (gridded) time series of population and land use for the last 12,000 years ! It also presents various other indicators such as GDP, value added, livestock, agricultural areas and yields, private consumption, greenhouse gas emissions and industrial production data, but only for the last century.
National Forestry Database - CanadaThe National Forestry Database (NFD) is Canada's Compendium of Forestry Statistics, serving as our national source of credible, accurate, and reliable forestry statistics. The principal role of the NFD is to collect and compile national forest data and forest management statistics.
UN Economic Commission for Europe: Data and StatisticsThe Forestry and Timber Section has a long-standing tradition of extensive data collection. Below are outputs for some of the current programmes of recurring statistical work.
USDA PLANTS Database"PLANTS Database provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories." Includes maps. Use the Advanced Search to aid in downloading data.
VegBank"VegBank is the vegetation plot database of the Ecological Society of America's Panel on Vegetation Classification. VegBank consists of three linked databases that contain (1) the actual plot records, (2) vegetation types recognized in the U.S. National Vegetation Classification and other vegetation types submitted by users, and (3) all plant taxa recognized by ITIS/USDA as well as all other plant taxa recorded in plot records. Vegetation records, community types and plant taxa may be submitted to VegBank and may be subsequently searched, viewed, annotated, revised, interpreted, downloaded, and cited. "
Wilderness DataNational Wilderness Preservation System, 765 areas ub 44 states totaling over 109,000,000 acres (BLM, FWS, FS, NPS)
IPUMS USA: US Census Data for Social, Economic, and Health ResearchYears: Samples from fifteen federal censuses (1850-2000) and the American Community Surveys (2000-2006). Geographies: Public use microdata areasFormats: Can be downloaded with syntax files for SAS, SPSS, StataNotes: These are microdata, as distinct from the aggregate (published) data found in nearly every other census data resource. See What are microdata? for details.
