Yale University Library Research Guides: Environmental Data: Finding and Visualizing Licensed Data

Licensed Economics & Science Data Sources

American Energy Society AES offers its members the opportunity to access internal and external datasets to use for quantitative research.
more...less...
To access this resource you will need to create a personal account using your Yale email address.
Data Citation Index Data Citation Index provides access to research data from repositories across disciplines and around the world. Through linked content and summary information, this data is displayed within the broader context of the scholarly research, enabling users to gain perspective that is lost when data sets or repositories are viewed in isolation. These connections allow researchers to access an array of data across subjects and regions.
Datastream Available on a designated workstation at Marx Library Historical data on stocks, bonds, commodities and other financial vehicles such as options, convertibles, warrants and swaps.
EIU Viewpoint
Factiva Features over 8,000 news sources from 118 countries and 22 languages, and 120 continuously updated newswires.
more...less...
Includes same-day and archival coverage of The Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, The Globe and Mail , and local newspapers from every corner of the globe plus newswires from Reuters, Associated Press and more. Per our license agreement, Factiva may not be used for text mining projects.
FactSet Connect FactSet Connect features comprehensive data and analytics on global financial and economic markets and companies, in a flexible, easy-to-use, web-based environment. Access to FactSet is made possible Yale School of Management .
more...less...
FactSet Workstation is available for Faculty & PhD Students.
Global Financial Data Financial and economic data covering over 150 countries and over 6,500 historical and current data series.
more...less...
Bonds, T-bills, unemployment, GDP, commodity prices, exchange rates, and more, some dating back to 1900. Access is restricted to current Yale faculty and students.
IBISWorld Market research reports on a variety of healthcare & related industries. Examples inlcude Home Care Providers, Blood and Organ Banks, & Medical Device Manufacturing. Covers US, UK, and China.
International Financial Statistics Current data on exchange rates, international liquidity, money and banking, interest rates, prices, production, international transactions, government accounts, and national accounts.
more...less...
Coverage starts in 1940; series are monthly, quarterly or annual. Published by IMF.
Refinitiv Workspace Features market data, company financials and filings, earnings estimates, transaction data, analyst research, and more. Requires users to register for an individual account. Learn more here. This resource replaced Thomson ONE.
LSEG Workspace Access to our largest collection of analyst reports on companies and industries, dating back to 1982. Coverage and availability will vary by the contributor. This resource replaced Thomson ONE . Includes reports from the following top banks: JP Morgan; Morgan Stanley; Deutsche Bank; Credit Suisse; Barclays; Bank of America; Wells Fargo; RBC Capital Markets; UBS; HSBC; Nomura: Jefferies. Not Available in Refinitiv Workspace: Research from Goldman Sachs or Citi. Requires users to register for an individual account. Learn more here.
Mergent Intellect Directory of global business information that features access to private and public U.S and international business data, executive contact information, and industry research. Data is provided from D&B Hoovers.
OECD iLibrary Full-text books, journals, reports, and statistical data from the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD). Getting started guide available here.
PitchBook Features real time data to research and analyze companies, PE & VC deals, funds, investors and service providers across the entire private investment lifecycle. Requires users to sign up for an accounting using a Yale email address.
more...less...
Users are limited to 10 downloads per day and 25 downloads per month. (1 download = 1 row of data on an Excel file). Accounts will automatically be reset annually on May 31.
S&P NetAdvantage Features access to S&P Industry Surveys on over 40 topics, including Biotechnology and Pharmaceuticals. Includes sector & industry performance overviews and industry profiles that covers trends, how the industry operates, key ratios & statistics, references & more.
SparkSpread SparkSpread features real time data on energy financing and trading news. Access requires current students, faculty, and staff to register for an account with a current @yale.edu email address.
Statista An online statistics portal that provides acces to data from over 18,000 sources. Download data, charts, infographics, reports, and much more.

This is not an exhaustive list of Yale University Library's licensed data sources, only the ones that have to do with business, economics, and the environment. For a more comprehensive list of available licensed data sources, visit the Databases search interface in Quicksearch, and search for "data."

Licensed Software for Visualizing Data

PolicyMap Years: 2000, post-2000 estimates and projections Geographies: states, cities, counties, tracts, block groups, ZIP codes Subscription resource with data focused on policy areas. Data includes information on demographics, health, education, inequality, and more. For additional information about using PolicyMap: http://guides.library.yale.edu/policymap. Formats: export maps as GIFs or PDFs; export shapefiles; export data to Excel.
S&P Global Market Intelligence In-depth data, news, and analytics on the banking, insurance, and energy industries. Formerly known as SNL Finance or SNL Energy.
more...less...
Individual account required.
Capital IQ account holders can access directly using the Market Intelligence Platform link in the upper right corner of the Captial IQ page.
SimplyAnalytics Web-based mapping application includes data from the U.S. Census, EASI Analytics, Simmons LOCAL and Nielsen Scarborough.
Social Explorer Social explorer provides access to census and demographic data. The online interface lets users create maps and reports to illustrate, analyze, and understand demography and social change. Included is the entire U.S. census history from 1790 to 2010, the American Community Survey (ACS) from 2005 to 2012, the Religious Congregations and Membership Study (RCMS) from 1980 to 2010, InfoGroup data on religious congregations in the US for 2009 and 2010, and carbon emissions data for 2002 from the Vulcan Project.

The software listed above enables users to create maps, tables, spreadsheets, and more to visualize social science data.

Tutorial: finding plant-level data with S&P Global Market Intelligence

Note: You may need to enlarge the tutorial to see the entire slide.

Tip: S&P Market Intelligence has a template library. If you are looking to get FF1 financials for just one company, you can use the FERC Form 1 Financial and Operating Details templates. If you are looking to draw a comparison between a number of companies, use the Peer Comparison. Please note that you will need to get the Market Intelligence Office Excel add-in to be able to update the data in the template.

Environmental Data: Finding and Visualizing Licensed Data

Data sets in Quicksearch

Licensed Economics & Science Data Sources

Licensed Software for Visualizing Data

Tutorial: finding plant-level data with S&P Global Market Intelligence

Here's an interactive tutorial

Site Navigation

Yale's Libraries