Yale University Library Research Guides: Born Digital @ Yale: Yale Resources

Born Digital Archives Working Group

BDAWG Charge, Goals, Annual Reports, and Membership

Blog

Saving Digital Stuff: A blog about born-digital archival collections at Yale

Policy Documents

YUL Born Digital Archives Access Policy
This policy addresses access to born digital archival materials in Yale University Libraries and Museums (YUL/M). The policy addresses YUL/M’s current methods and restrictions on providing access, focusing on reading room access and providing reproductions of born digital collections material to individual patrons upon request.

Project Reports

Email Archiving Task Force Report - Addendum 2022
The update provides evaluations of the RATOM, Mailbag, and updated ePadd applications.
BDAWG Work on Vendor Ethics and FTK FY21 and FY22
Report on the ethical implications of vendor selection, with a focus on addressing ethics as part of the decision-making process when identifying and selecting tools for working with born digital archival materials.
Network Transfer Task Force Final Report
Usage documentation and guidance for four tools commonly used at Yale and beyond for accepting transfer of born digital archival materials.
Email Archiving Task Force Final Report
Tool Evaluations, Recommendations, and Process Workflows for Archiving Email Collections. An investigation into how current tools and workflows in the field of email archiving might be implemented within Yale University Libraries and Museums (YUL/M), and integrated with existing tools and services used by YUL/M’s special collections units.
Accessioning Born-Digital Records
Definition and scope of accessioning for born digital archival records.
Reusable Base Image for Born Digital Access
Report on creating a reusable base image that can be installed on laptops to provide secure access to born digital archival materials in Yale special collection repositories.

Yale Web Archiving Working Group

Web Archiving @ Yale

Information about Yale's web archiving initiatives, including Documentation of Recommendations and Shared Practices and resources related to Intellectual Property Rights and Web Archiving.

Yale Born Digital Archival Description Task Force

Born Digital Archival Description Guidelines

Guidance on descriptive elements, processing levels, metadata mapping, and links to finding aids for collections held by Yale repositories containing born digital material.

Digital Preservation unit of Yale University Library

Digital Preservation at Yale University Library

Resources include documentation of their work towards implementing Software Emulation as a Service (EaaS) and a Glossary of Digital Preservation Terminology.

Digital Preservation System at Yale University Library

Documentation about Yale's instances of the Preservica digital preservation system and links to Preservica documentation and training materials.

Yale Archival Management Systems Committee

YAMS

Resources related the development of the Yale instance of the ArchivesSpace archival management system, including links to the ArchivesSpace at Yale: User Manual with instructions pertaining to born digital materials and trainings on using ArchivesSpace.

Born Digital @ Yale: Yale Resources

Yale Resources: Born Digital Archives