Skip to main content
U.S. Digital Projects
Russian Digital Collections - Compiled by Erika Spencer at the Library of Congress, this is a list of digitized collections and web exhibits from a number of American libraries with extensive Slavic holdings.
Digital Public Library of America - Collects digitized resources from many American libraries. Russia and Eastern Europe are well represented.
Hathi Trust - A digital library initiative based at the University of Michigan, Hathi Trust allows partner institutions access to a large collection of digitized volumes.
Russian books on the Internet Archive - One of a number of collections of Russian material on archive.org, this one features many titles digitized by academic libraries throughout the US.
Digital collections at NYPL - This digital archive emphasizes visual media and features selections from NYPL's extensive holdings of Slavic and Baltic materials.
Russian Theatre Designs from the Harvard Theatre Collection
Archives of Historical and Ethnographic Yiddish Memories - This oral history project consists of video interviews with Yiddish-speaking Holocaust survivors in Hungary, Moldova, Romania, Slovakia, and Ukraine, with emphasis on prewar Jewish life and culture in those areas.
National Security Archive - GWU's National Security Archive features a Russian language interface and an extensive collection of Russian archival documents and declassified CIA documents.
European Digital Projects
Europeana - A digital library featuring holdings from libraries, museums, and archives across Europe.
Monoskop - "A wiki for collaborative studies of the arts." Features links to digitized books and films pertaining to art and the avant-garde.
Vera and Donald Blinken Open Society Archives - Digital Repository features collections on Cold War history in Central & Eastern Europe.