A popular platform offering fiction in both ebook and audiobook format.

Formerly known as Ebrary Academic Complete Subscription Collection.

eBook collection chiefly focused on technology and natural sciences, social sciences, and history.

Includes e-books as well as scholarly journals.

A free web resource containing thousands of digitized historical texts. Yale Library is a member of the consortium sponsoring this resource, so additional website features are available when accessing this resource via the Yale network.

A small collection of Russian-language ebooks, including a cache of digitized publications on early Russian cinema.

The American Bibliography of Slavic & Eastern European Studies (ABSEES) provides information on East-Central Europe, Russia, Soviet Union and the former Soviet republics, with indexed sources published in the United States, Canada and some European countries. More than 145,000 records from 1989-present are included, with content added annually.

One of the premier databases for religion and theology, ATLA includes substantial content on Russian Orthodoxy, within Russia and abroad, as well as on Russian and East European Jewish topics.

The Central and East European Online Library (CEEOL) provides access to more than 2,000 scholarly journals across Eastern Europe, in addition to publications about Eastern Europe from Japan, Turkey, the U.S. and U.K.

Founded in 1949, the Current Digest provides access to a curated selection of Russian news sources translated into English. Very useful for readers of English looking for information on how various events are being reported in Russian-language media.

The premier journal for Russian film criticism, theory, and history. Archives go back to 1933, with current content available in the Russian Social Sciences & Humanities Database.

The other essential source of Soviet-era news, the Izvestiia archive contains issues from 1917-2010. It retains its reputation today as the Russian Federation's paper of record.

The famous satirical journal Krokodil is digitized here in its entirety (1922-2008), and in addition to full-text searchability, the image metadata on its pages is also indexed, allowing you to search through its copious illustrations.

This small digital archive contains the full run of Lef and Novyi Lef, journals produced by the members of the early Soviet association Left Front of the Arts. The Beinecke Library also has physical issues of some journals in the run.

A major outlet for criticism and commentary among Russia's preeminent cultural and literary stars, this archive contains all issues going back to the journal's founding in 1929.

The massively popular illustrated weekly Niva ran from 1870-1917 and contains content on nearly all subjects for nearly all ages. An excellent source for analysis of 19th century Russian popular culture and media.

By far the most often consulted of our available digital newspaper archives, the Pravda Digital Archive contains all issues of the official organ of the Russian Communist Party (1913-present). An essential source for official party communications throughout the entire Soviet era. Its current issues can be found in the Russian Central Newspapers database.

Recent coverage from thousands of newspapers and magazines around the world.

A compendium of titles that predate the contemporary journal Kultura, this archive is a major source on Soviet and Russian perspectives on arts and culture spanning 1929-2013. Current issues can be found in the Russian Central Newspapers database.

The Universal Database of Regional Russian Newspapers (UDB-REG) provides close-up coverage of developments throughout Russia's regions. This database currently presents newspapers from all seven Federal Districts of the Russian Federation and includes coverage of local issues of Moscow and St. Petersburg. The database represents such noteworthy regions as the troubled Northern Caucasus (Groznenskii rabochii from Chechnya, Severnaia Osetiia from Northern Osetiia-Alania, etc.), oil & gas rich Western Siberia (Tiumenskie izvestiia, etc.), the investment-friendly Volga region (Nizhegorodskie novosti from Nizhnii Novgorod or Samarskie izvestiia from Samara), and many others. The selected newspapers have the largest circulation in their regions and are considered as most authoritative. Access is available only through 2016.

Universal Database of Russian Central Newspapers (UDB-COM) contains around 40 actively publishing Russian central newspapers and weekly magazines, covering the entire spectrum of domestic news, as well as the currents of Russia’s economic and cultural life. They include official publications (Rossiiskaia gazeta, Rossiiskie vesti), popular and business newspapers (Argumenty i fakty, Moskovskii komsomolets, Komsomolskaia pravda, Kommersant, Vedomosti), trade publications (Gudok, Stroitel’naia gazeta, Ekran i scena, Uchitel’skaia gazeta, Literaturnaia gazeta), in short important publications which cover news about and provide commentary on contemporary Russia. Independent media, with the exception of Novaia Gazeta and Nezavisimaia Gazeta, are presented as online versions with the same original content (The New Times, Republic) allowing users to have access to the entire spectrum of opinions and perspectives.

The Universal Database of Russian Military and Security Periodicals (UDB-MIL) includes several dozen publications covering military and security developments in Russia from both official and independent sources. All branches of the armed forces are covered by this database, including the Russian Air Force, Army and Navy. Equally important, the database includes a trove of English-language sources. In addition to journals and newspapers published in Moscow, the database presents imprints from military districts and some armies and divisions. Access is available only through 2016.

This database includes all 31 journals of the Russian Academy of Sciences ranging from archeology to linguistics, as well as popular literary editions, and independent scholarly publications. New titles are added on a regular basis.

The Universal Database of newspapers from the Latvia, Lithuania, Estonia, Ukraine, Moldova and Belarus (UDB-EUR) includes important periodicals published in these newly independent states which used to be part of the Soviet Union. The sources are in mostly in Russian, they cover various issues of domestic and international importance. Access is available only through 2016.

Includes publications on political, cultural, social, and artistic life in Ukraine, through 2016.

The Universal Database of Central Asia and Caucasus (UDB-CAC) includes a number of authoritative periodicals published in the Newly Independent States of the former Soviet Union. The sources are mostly in Russian and English and cover various issues of domestic and international importance. AP-Blitz, an information agency, offers its daily newsline, Tajikistan News in Brief. Another important publication from the same region is The Times of Central Asia, a business weekly published in Bishkek (Kyrgyzstan). A notable feature of the database are the journals published by the Center for Economic Research in Tashkent (Uzbekistan). Their content covers critical analytical and statistical data on the economic dynamics of Uzbekistan society, changes in social and economic development of Uzbekistan. Access is available only through 2016.

A database of Hungarian journals and newspapers, including both current and historical content.

Provides access to thousands of video titles on the arts, humanities, science, and social sciences. The formats include documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, raw footage, and award-winning films, all with accompanying transcripts. Collection highlights include: BBC, PBS, Sony Pictures Classics, Filmakers Library.

A collection of streaming videos from a variety of producers including California Newsreel, PBS, the BBC, National Geographic, Films for the Humanities & Sciences, and more. Includes over 35,000 videos covering a wide range of topics organized by broad subject area, as well as feature films in the world cinema collection

Provides streaming access to documentary and social issue films and videos from a variety of distributors, including Bullfrog, First Run Features, Icarus Films, National Film Board of Canada, Pragda, and Women Make Movies.

Collection of streaming documentary films from across the world for an academic audience. Films cover various topics of social, political and cultural importance.

Streaming video service that offers international films and documentaries across diverse subjects and disciplines. Collections include titles from the DEFA Film Library, ArtMattan Films, HBO, PBS, Frameline, Ruscico, Pragda, BBC, Flicker Alley, National Film Board of Canada, First Run Features, Cinema Libre Studio, New Day Films, and the Criterion Collection/Janus Films. Films are licensed individually for academic use only.

The database includes over 200 full-length feature films from leading independent distributors such as Kino Lorber, First Run Features, Film Movement, and Global Lens. There are also some 50 award winning short films. All films were presented at major film festivals, many were nominated for awards, and many have won major awards.

Selection of over 1000 feature films, documentaries, and shorts from across Asia. Themes cover include modernity, globalization, female agency, social and political unrest, and cultural and sexual identity.

A cinematic survey of the lives of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people as well as the cultural and political evolution of the LGBT community. It features documentaries, interviews, archival footage, and select feature films exploring LGBT history, gay culture and subcultures, civil rights, marriage equality, LGBT families, AIDS, transgender issues, religious perspectives on homosexuality, global comparative experiences, and other topics.

Brings together films which represent the basis of modern cinematic technique and film theory. This database covers silent features, serials, and shorts from the 1890s to the 1930s and includes examples of the silent film movement from Germany, Britain, the Soviet Union, and France. The resource complements its feature films with a selection of related documentaries.

Collection of documentary, newsreel and feature films produced primarily in the communist world and re-edited for western audiences. includes works by Soviet, Chinese, Vietnamese, East European, and Latin American filmmakers. Ranging from the early 20th century to the 1980s, the material encapsulates the themes of war, revolution, news, current affairs, culture and society.

The NVL contains more than 1290 full-length videos from 28 different publishing houses. The content includes classical music in large part (opera, ballet, theatre, jazz, concerts, competitions, documentaries, master classes, and lectures) but also includes feature films about religious figures and topics like geography, world monuments, and fine arts. Films appear under the "Genres and Programmes" catagory.

Includes streaming video files related to 20th century dance, including documentaries, editorials, instructional, interviews, and performances. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance. Videos can be browsed by people, role, ensemble, genre, and venue.

provides online access to a digital streaming video collection of films of current British theatre productions. Includes behind-the-scenes documentaries as well as teaching and learning resources to facilitate understanding of the productions and texts. Learning resources include a detailed introduction, plot summary, character biographies, a relationship map, language analysis, scene study, performance background and historical context for each play.

Met opera on demand provides access to full length Met performances. It features live HD productions, classic telecasts from the 1970s, '80s, '90s, and '00s, and radio broadcasts dating back to 1936.