The Fundamental Digital Library of Russian Literature and Folklore is an incredibly rich and valuable digital resource, particularly as it hosts many academic redactions of classic works by Russian writers. A good substitute when you don't have the PSS on hand.

The Russian National Library maintains this excellent resource, listing sites of access for digitized journals and newspapers across the internet. Organized chronologically, thematically, geographically, and linguistically, this is an essential checkpoint if you're seeking a specific title.

An evolving digital library administered by the Russian National Library, including digitized rare books, periodicals, and images.

The digital library of the Nekrasov Library.

The digital library of the State Public Historical Library. Includes books, journals, newspapers, images, and maps.

A variety of digitized resources, including digitized periodicals and books.

A "noncommercial digital library" featuring books as well as audio clips, images, articles, etc.

Administered by the Biblioteka Narodowa in Warsaw, Polona is a robust and evolving digital library utilizing materials from across Poland.

An online portal providing access to almost 40 million scanned archival objects from Polish archives.

The major digital project of the National Library of the Czech Republic. All material in the library not under copyright is available to any web visitor for free.

Formerly known as ViFaOst, this German academic web portal provides often full-text access to a variety of resources on Eastern Europe, including library catalogs, bibliographies, and article databases.

Over 50 million digitized books, images, and other media from cultural institutions across Europe.

Begun in 1997 as the major digitization project at the Bibliothèque Nationale de France, Gallica includes full-text of over 100,000 volumes and 300,000 images covering the Middle Ages to the beginning of the twentieth century, with an emphasis on nineteenth-century material. Residing in Gallica are dictionaries and encyclopedias, journals, manuscripts, recordings and images.

Digital collections documenting chiefly underground activity during the Soviet period, including many films.

Digital collections created through a British Library-funded grant program that sends researchers to "endangered" research collections for preservation work. Many collections from Russia and Eastern Europe are included.

DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.

A handy index of Russian scholarly literature, featuring citation indexes and (often) access to full text. Additional features can be unlocked with a personal account.

An open access library of Russian scholarly writing on topics in the humanities, as well as social and natural sciences.

A collection of open access Russian language literary journals.

Portal of scholarly Russian literature, chiefly on technical and social science topics.

A citation database companion to ABSEES.