Broadcast and Film:

Here are just a few examples of some of the primary source databases containing digitized manuscript collections that are available through Yale Library:

If you’re having trouble determining if there are licensed databases of primary sources at Yale in your area of interest, you can also explore the Library’s Databases A-Z guide.

Don’t forget that archives and libraries around the world have been digitizing primary sources for two decades. Here are a few selected examples of these resources:

• American Archive of Public Broadcasting
• Calisphere
• Digital Public Library of America
• Library of Congress
• National Museum of African American History and Culture
• New York Public Library
• Old Maps Online

You can search our database of archival finding aids, Archives at Yale, for archival materials that are located in one of the special collections repositories on campus. The following information will also be helpful:

• The Guide to Using Special Collections at Yale University is a great introduction to finding and using special collections and archives held at Yale for your research projects. 
• The Primary Sources at Yale website is a great resource if you're not sure what types of materials might serve as primary sources for your research project. The section on database search strategies and using Advanced Search features is especially useful and will increase the power and focus of your database searches! Be aware that primary sources can be found in many library locations and resources other than the special collections units.

Archive Grid contains records for finding aids from over 1000 archival institutions. Start here when you are seeking to discover if there are any relevant archival collections for your research beyond Yale. The "Summary View" option is a good way to filter your search results after running a search. This is an open access resource/no login required.