It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The collection includes many examples of publishing by minority communities throughout Eastern Europe. Yale holds a full run of the Jewish newspaper Izraelita, published in Warsaw from 1866-1913.
Many different disciplines and topics are represented within the microfilm collection's periodicals. The short-lived Russian newspaper Ekran, dedicated to discussing the stage and screen, features advertisements on its front page for the many productions running in Moscow, and the actors starring in them.
Moscow Printing House Archive
In addition to rare books and periodicals, reproductions of unique documents and archives are extensively featured in the Slavic holdings of the collection. The Moscow Printing House Archive contains full reproductions of the 17th century account books of Russia's only state-run publishing house.
Historical languages and dialects are widely represented in the Slavic microfilm collections. The literary journal Pchola, published in Lviv in 1921, used a combination of vernacular Ukrainian and hybrid-Russian literary dialects.
Slavic and East European Materials on Microform
Yale's collection of microfilm is an indispensable resource for archival materials, historical newspapers, and other material that can be extremely difficult to find in print.