It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library building hours and access are limited at this time. Services and support are being provided remotely. See COVID-19 library updates.
The CIFP database includes measures of domestic armed conflict, governance and political instability, militarization, religious and ethnic diversity, demographic stress, economic performance, human development, environmental stress, and international linkages, in the form of over one hundred performance indicators for 196 countries, spanning fifteen years (1985-2000) for most indicators. Indicators are drawn from a variety of open sources.
Comprehensive source of world rankings, world records and top 10 lists. Database includes superlatives in several categories such as environment, wealth, education etc. Also includes some comparisions.
Gender Info 2010, an initiative of the United Nations Statistics Division in collaboration with UNICEF and UNFPA, is a DevInfo adaptation containing global data on gender statistics and indicators." Time period - 1960-2030.
Welcome to GeoHive, a site with all kinds of population statistics. The main component is tabulated population statistics: current, historical, estimates, projections, cities, agglomerations, etc. But also geopolitical data like the administrative divisions of countries (provinces, counties and such) of all nations of this world. In the resources section one can find a long list of national statistical agencies and other interesting resources.
Provides a wealth of information for every country in the world. Each entry gives a brief history and outlines contemporary social, economic, political and religious issues. In addition, for each country there is a clear map and a quick-reference fact box containing data and statistics including languages, population, GDP, capital city, life expectancy, and more. Invaluable supplementary material includes detailed indicator tables showing income and poverty, health and population etc, and list of international organizations, such as the EU and the African Union, with essential information about these groupings.
Tool that replicates the calculations made by the World Bank's researchers in estimating the extent of absolute poverty in the world. Povcal allows you to calculate the poverty measures under different assumptions and to assemble the estimates using alternative country groupings or for any set of individual countries of you're choosing.
Provides selected statistical series for all countries and areas and selected series from more specialized international data sources. Information provided on data sources, definitions and classifications. Includes economic, social, environment and trade indicators.
Statistics for major indicators of industrial performance are presented by country to meet the needs of a wide range of data users. The country data are given in comparison with figures for the geographical region or development group it belongs to.
The World Statistics Pocketbook is an annual compilation of key economic, social and environmental indicators, presented in one-page profiles and selected from the wealth of international statistical information compiled regularly by the Statistics Division and the Population Division of the United Nations, the statistical services of the United Nations specialized agencies and other international organizations and institutions. Topics covered include: agriculture, balance of payments, education, energy, environment, food, gender, health, industrial production, information and communication, international finance, international tourism, international trade, labour, migration, national accounts, population and prices.
This global research project explores people's values and beliefs, how they change over time and what social and political impact the have. It is carried out by a worldwide network of social scientists who, since 1981, have conducted representative national surveys in almost 100 countries,
The Food and Agriculture Organization for the United Nations and its 183 members highlight information as one of the priority areas in fighting hunger and achieving food security. The FAO Country Profiles and Mapping Information System is a pioneering information retrieval tool which groups the organizations' vast archive of information on its global activities in agriculture and development in a single area and catalogs it by country.