It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library building hours and access are limited at this time. Services and support are being provided remotely. See COVID-19 library updates.
The new Database on Social Investment in Latin America and the Caribbean has been developed jointly by the Social Development Division of ECLAC and the countries of the region. Social investment is defined as the volume of resources spent on policies associated with the following six functions: 1) environmental protection, 2) housing and community amenities, 3) health, 4) recreation, culture and religion, 5) education and 6) social protection.
Published since 1948, this report examines various aspects of the previous year’s macroeconomic situation in the region and makes projections for the coming months. The study also includes country notes that review the performance of the main economic indicators in the period analysed. Scroll down for older editions.
he Human Development Index (HDI), the Includes the Inequality-Adjusted Human Development Index (IHDI), the Gender Development Index (GDI), the Gender Inequality Index (GII), and the Multidimensional Poverty Index (MPI).
LAEDA seeks to collect, preserve, and provide access to data sets relevant to Latin American research, policy analysis, and teaching. The focus of the collection is on electoral data, household surveys, and data relevant to education in Latin America.
The data base contains statistical series for a wide range of economic and social indicators covering twenty countries in the region for the twentieth century and beyond. Its purpose is to provide economic and social historians worldwide with a systematic collection of available statistical information in a single on-line source.
Centralized and systematized information about institutions and political processes, national constitutions, branches of government, elections, political constitutional studies and other subjects related to the strengthening of democracy in the region.
SEDLAC allows users to monitor the trends in poverty and other distributional and social indicators in the region. The dataset is available in the form of brief reports, charts and electronic Excel tables with information for each country/year. In addition, the website offers dynamic searches online.
Provides a portal with access to reference material, periodicals, multimedia, reports, studies, journals, newspapers, and statistical data. An archive of digitized primary documents focus on the history of Latin America and the Caribbean back to the early 1980's.