Find Native American Resources - Native American Cultural Center - A Research Guide - Yale University Library Research Guides at Yale University

Subject Searching in Orbis

If you want to find material (like books) on Native American studies in the library catalog, a keyword search for “Native Americans” would be far too general.

More often than not, a subject search will be more precise. However, for Native American studies the phrase "Native American" will unfortunately not yield many results because the schema developed by the Library of Congress Subject Headings was created between 1898 and 1912. Instead, you will need to start by using "Indian”.

Here's a list of terms that will yield results in library catalogs, including the Yale Library catalog. Use these terms to search by subject using Advanced Search in Orbis.

American literature - Indian authors
Indian Literature
Indians in literature
Indian
Indian art
Indians
Indians - Cultural assimilation
Indians - Government relations
Indians - Poetry
Indians - Treatment of
Indians of North America (again, instead of Native Americans)

There are also narrower terms you can search by subject for, including:

Algonquian Indians
Caddoan Indians
Ojibwa Indians
Sewee Indians
… and more, just search for “Indians of North America” and you’ll see a list of options appear.

More Resources

Archives Unbound
Archives unbound presents digital collections of historical documents that cover topics from the Middle Ages to the present.
Canadian History
A useful source for gaining an understanding of Canadian sources available at the university. Some useful links include a somewhat dated bibliography of print reference materials, tips on finding secondary materials on Canada, and websites on Canadian literature.
Native American History Primary Sources
A guide to Yale primary source collections that support teaching and research in Native American History.
Sabin Americana, 1500-1926
ased on Joseph Sabin's Bibliotheca Americana, Sabin Americana contains works about the Americas published worldwide from 1500 to the early 1900's. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, and military actions in the western hemisphere.
U.S. - Mexico Borderlands: Emigration, Immigration & Migration
Library resources for the studies of the US-Mexico Bordlands
U.S. History and American Studies
Yale Indian Papers Project
A number of institutions that have significant New England Indian collections (Yale University, the Connecticut State Library, the Connecticut Historical Society, the Massachusetts Archives, and the National Archives of the United Kingdom) have organized into a cooperative endeavor called The Yale Indian Papers Project to address the problems of publishing an electronic database known as The New England Indian Papers Series. The Series represents a scholarly critical edition of New England Native American primary source materials gathered presently from the partner institutions into one robust virtual collection, where the items are digitized, transcribed, annotated, and edited to the highest academic standards.

Ask Yale Library

Ask Yale Library

Find answers to common questions, discover solutions to common problems, and more!

Native American Cultural Center - A Research Guide: Find Native American Resources

Subject Searching in Orbis

More Resources

Ask Yale Library

Site Navigation

Yale's Libraries