It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to the guide for Environmental Economics. On this guide, you'll find links to relevant databases, web pages, and data sets. None of the lists here are exhaustive, and so we invite you to contact Rachel Sperling (Environmental Studies Librarian) or Gwyneth Crowley (Librarian for Economics, Psychology, and Statistics) for research assistance.
Frequently Used Economics & Environmental Studies Databases
Agricultural & environmental science databaseThe Agricultural & Environmental Science Database is a cross-disciplinary resource and content is covered from disciplines such as engineering, biotechnology, bacteriology, atmospheric science, ecology, and biology.
EconLitCoverage: 1886 - current This database is published by the American Economic Association and provides bibliographic coverage of a wide range of economics-related literature. An expanded version of the Journal of Economic Literature (JEL) indexes of journals, books and dissertations, EconLit covers both economic theory and application. Also included are full-text of book reviews published in the Journal of Economic Literature since 1993. Coverage: 1886 - current
Environment CompleteDating back to 1888 and covering Agriculture, Ecosystem ecology, Energy, Environmental law, Environmental technology, Geography, and Marine & freshwater science. Contains full text for more than 920 journals, including
the most-used journals in the discipline, such as Environment (back to 1975), Ecologist, Conservation Biology, Natural resources, Pollution & waste management, Public policy, Renewable energy sources, Social impacts, Urban Impact
Additionally, Environment Complete provides full text for more than 190 monographs, such as Encyclopedia of World Environmental History, Advances in Water Treatment & Environmental Management and many others.
Gale in context. Environmental studiesGale In Context: Environmental Studies (formerly GREENR: Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources) is interactive and current, allowing users to navigate issue, organization and country portals. It's Gale/Cengage's one-stop site dedicated to studying sustainability and the environment.
From global warming, to food safety, to access to health care, to the impact of economic development on international relations, today's important environmental issues are shaping the future and reach far beyond the United States. Additionally, as green collar jobs are poised for growth, municipalities strive to be environmentally friendly, and corporations develop green working environments, this resource becomes invaluable.
Gale In Context: Environmental Studies focuses on the study of sustainability and the environment. Both interactive and current, the database allows users to navigate issue, organization and country portals. A one-stop site, this resource provides news, background information, video, unique commentaries, primary source documents and statistics in highly accessible, visually appealing research areas, covering relevant categories including energy systems, healthcare, food, climate change, population, and economic development. It also offers interactive maps and contextual multimedia, customizable journals and news, and refereed case studies.
Gale In Context: Environmental Studies brings a balanced assortment of multimedia that delivers:
Hundreds of English-language international newspapers, magazines and refereed journals
Recognized sources of videos, podcasts and images, updated daily
Searchable case studies to support targeted research
Interactive maps that facilitate browsing by country or topic issues
Sharing capabilities via social networking sites
A customizable homepage to accommodate specific search needs
Country portals covering more than one hundred sixty nations
Topic/Issue portals in more than one hundred fifty categories, from animal welfare to wind energy
Organization portals providing overviews and links to international associations
GreenFILEPublicly available, this interdisciplinary resource draws on the connections between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling and more.
Rachel Sperling - Librarian for Environmental Studies