Skip to main content
Welcome! This guide is intended to guide researchers from the Child Study Center at Yale to resources and services provided by the Cushing/Whitney Medical Library.
Read by QxMD
Read by QxMD is a web and mobile application that provides full text access to institutional journals subscriptions via the iPad, iPhone, Android, and web-enabled desktop.
Other Library Resources
Electronic Journals and Books
Expert Search Tip: under Electronic Journals or Books: click on "by Subject" and choose "Therapeutic Radiology".
The main Library catalog where you will find books and other material held in the Yale University Library.
Core Library Databases
Embase lives on the Ovid platform and is good for those interested in topics outside of mainstream medicine and outside of the United States. EMBASE is also particularly good for pharmacology searches, includes conference papers (unlike MEDLINE), and has its own controlled vocabulary system called Emtree.
Compiled by the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), MEDLINE is the world's most comprehensive source of life sciences and biomedical bibliographic information. It contains records from different publications from 1965 to present.
PsycINFO is produced by the American Psychological Association and contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacoloy, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.
service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health, is a database of biomedical citations from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed central and publisher sites.
Scopus offers peer-reviewed abstracts and citations in science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Materials included range from scientific journals and books to conference proceedings.
Web of Science
multidisciplinary database offering access to a broad selection of journal articles, conference proceedings, book chapters, reviews, and more. Web of Science also offers citation reports that let users view connections between researchers across fields.
Services Provided by a Departmental Librarian
Email me for help with a range of services, including:
- Expert searching of the literature in databases like PubMed
- Orientation to the library and its services for new residents, fellows, or faculty
- One-on-one consultations for your research projects
- Learning how to obtain library materials such as article PDFs or books
- Citation management programs, such as Endnote and Refworks
- Support for Systematic Reviews
- Advice for Keeping Current
I'm available by phone and email. I can also meet in person in your office or at the Cushing/Whitney Medical Library.
Interlibrary Loan (ILL) allows you to request library materials from institutions all over the world. If a book, journal, dissertation, or other item is not available in the Yale Library System the ILL team will attempt to obtain it from a global network of partner libraries.