Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Yale University Library Today's Hours: Search the websiteOff-campus access

Comparative Medicine: Literature Search

Excellent resource for Comparative Medicine faculty and staff detailing important library and information resources available to Yale affiliates.

Databases

AGRICOLA
AGRICOLA indexes more than 2,000 serial titles as well as books, pamphlets, conference proceedings, research reports, government documents, monographs, theses, patents, software, audiovisual content, and microforms pertaining to all aspects of agriculture. The topics covered in this database include: agriculture, agronomy, animal science, biology, biotechnology, botany, breeding, chemistry, conservation, crop management, dairy science, ecology, entomology, farm management, feed science, fertilizers, food and nutrition, forestry, horticulture, hydrology, hydroponics, microbiology, nutrition, pesticides, physiology, plant science, pollution, soil science, water quality, and zoology.

Zoological Record
Zoological Record covers all aspects of modern animal research, including: behavior, biodiversity, conservation, ecology, evolution, genetics, habitat, morphology, nomenclature, parasitology, physiology, reproduction, taxonomy, and zoogeography.

PubMed
PubMed provides access to bibliographic information, which is drawn primarily from MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, HealthSTAR, as well as Publisher-Supplied citations.

Ovid Medline
Ovid Technologies offers a sophisticated and flexible search interface that allows one to search a variety of databases in a uniform way. Once familiar with the basic features of the interface, searching skills can be applied to the many databases offered through Ovid.

BIOSIS
Biosis, the online version of Biological Abstracts and Biological Abstracts- Reports, Reviews, Meetings contains literature references from all of the life sciences including: agriculture, cell biology, nutrition, public health, botany, biochemistry, biophysics, genetics, zoology, psychology. This is the premier database for coverage of botany research.

PsycInfo
International coverage of the professional and academic literature in psychology, medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas. Includes references and abstracts to over 1,300 journals and dissertations in more than 30 languages, and to book chapters and books in the English language. Over 50,000 references are added annually. Popular literature is excluded.

CAB Abstracts
Literature references, with abstracts, for publications in agriculture and applied biology research from around the world are found. Plant and animal breeding, horticulture, protozoology, grasslands, soil and dairy science technology, agricultural engineering and economics, rural development, sociology, nutrition, mycology, entomology, parasitology, recreation and tourism are some of the key topics covered.

Web of Science
Web of Science is a multidisciplinary database offering access to a broad selection of journal articles, conference proceedings, book chapters, reviews, and more. Web of Science also offers citation reports that let users view connections between researchers across fields.

Scopus
Scopus offers peer-reviewed abstracts and citations in science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Materials included range from scientific journals and books to conference proceedings.