The Digital Preservation unit works with other units and repositories across Yale University Libraries and Museums to develop preservation strategies for units, and to ingest content into the digital preservation system. As of March 2023, nearly 130 million files totaling 1.03 PB of digital content has been ingested into the system, which includes all types of materials from both general and special collections.

Examples of collections being ingested to the DPS include:

• born-digital archival collections from the Medical Historical Library and the Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library
• digitized audiovisual collections from YUL Manuscripts and Archives, including digitized videotape and film from the Fortunoff Collection, and the South Africa Now Collection
• digitized materials from the Music Library and the Divinity Library
• born-digital and digitized collections from the Yale Center for British Art Archives and the Yale Peabody Museum of Natural History
• digitized collections from the Lillian Goldman Law Library

Preservica offers an option to implement additional "tenancies" within the same local infrastructure. This enables separate organizations to use the same hardware and software installation, and share the same preservation team and administrators, while maintaining separate configurations including separation of security models and data storage. Preservica charges reduced support fees for each additional tenant. More information about these fees can be obtained by contacting the digital preservation team. 

As of November 2023, there are four tenancies in our installation:

1. Yale University Library
2. Yale Center for British Art
3. Yale Law School Lillian Goldman Law Library
4. Yale University Archives

The first ingest of content to our Production DPS instance is a collection of Digitized Monographs from the Digital Reformatting and Media Services unit within the Preservation Department.

These are books from the General Collections that have been identified as beyond repair. The DRMS unit produces high-quality digitized versions of each work optimized for different access forms, such as for viewing the books as a digital copy via PDF, or producing a new print copy of the work, in cases of works in the public domain. When possible, the OCR scans of these books have also been processed to produce METS/ALTO metadata, which is capable of encoding detailed information about text optical character recognition and page layout information for digitized materials. 

The Digitized Monographs collection includes books such as this copy of America During and After the War by Robert Ferguson, which was first published in 1866. The materials in this collection have been digitized at a very high quality to preserve a detailed reproduction of the physical qualities of the original printed materials.