Academic Search Premier
A general database for finding journal articles in many subject areas, including religion and philosophy.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials PLUS
Offers users access to a growing list of more than 450 full-text titles, including all of the full-text titles in ATLASerials (ATLAS), in many diverse areas of religion and theology, with full-text content in 16 languages from more than 30 different countries.
JSTOR
Provides complete electronic backfiles of core journals in a variety of subjects. Full text coverage begins at the first issue of each journal and usually ends within five years of the present. Relevant disciplines include philosophy and religion.
MLA International Bibliography
Provides access to citations of books (and chapters in books), journal articles, conference papers, and dissertations concerning general and comparative literature, linguistics in general and of all modern languages, all modern literatures, and folklore. Indexes resources back to the 1850s, some of which are linked to full text. Also provides access to the latest version of the MLA directory of periodicals but excludes book reviews.
History Databases
America: History and Life
Covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Indexes hundreds of journals.
Brepolis Medieval and Early Modern Bibliographies
Brepolis Medieval & Early Modern Bibliographies gathers together the International Medieval Bibliography, the Bibliographie de civilisation médiévale, and the International Bibliography of Humanism and the Renaissance.
Historical Abstracts
An index of literature covering world history (excluding the United States and Canada) from the 15th century to the present.
Jesuit Historiography Online (Brill)
An Open Access resource offering over seventy historiographical essays written by experts. Aimed at scholars of Jesuit history as well as the many disciplines with which it intersects, each essay in JHO provides a summary of key texts from the earlier literature, a painstaking survey of more recent work, and a digest of archival and online resources.
Christian Classics Ethereal Library
Extensive online collection of classic Christian texts, including Patristic writings, various versions of the Bible, hymns, denominational works, reference works, and theological texts.
Creeds of Christendom
Online texts of various Christian creeds and confessions, including many from the early modern period.
Digital Quaker Collection
Full text and page images of over 500 individual Quaker works from the 17th and 18th centuries.
Internet Sacred Text Archive
Includes sacred texts from various religious traditions including Christianity. Includes resources from the Reformation era such as the Spiritual Exercises, works of Luther and Calvin, catechisms, and famous novels from the era.
Online Journals
Church History
Published by the American Society of Church History. Abstracted and indexed in the ATLA Religion Database.
Church History and Religious Culture
Publishes research on all periods of the history of Christianity, and its intersections with other disciplines like law, science, and theology.
History Compass
Covers world history and combines original survey articles with information about all new and recent books, and articles published in all major journals in the field.
Journal of Early Modern Christianity
An interdisciplinary and interconfessional journal that also includes resources on Christianity's relations with other religions.
Journal of Early Modern History
The official journal of the University of Minnesota Center for Premodern Studies. A scholarly journal dedicated to the study of early modernity (1300-1800) from a world-historical perspective.
Journal of Ecclesiastical History
The journal's scope extends to cultural, institutional, intellectual, political, social and any other relevant form of history; to all periods from ancient to modern; and to all regions of the world.
Journal of Religious History
The scope of the journal is the history of all religions and their relationship with the human experience across all time periods.
Sixteenth Century Journal
Dedicated to providing readers with thought-provoking research and inquiry into the sixteenth century broadly defined (i.e., 1450-1648).
Studies in Church History
Published for The Ecclesiastical History Society, Cambridge. An annually published series comprising papers and communications delivered at the Ecclesiastical History Society’s conferences.
