Yale University Library Research Guides: Energy Industry: Industry and Market Overviews

Overviews and Analysis

ABI/Inform
Provides access to journal articles and abstracts, popular press, and news from business-focused publications. Find specific titles using the Publications search tab.
Featured Content: BMI Country Industry Reports (Quarterly) for Oil & Gas, Petrochemicals, Mining (Coal), Power, Renewables; BMI Industry Insight Reports (Monthly) for Oil and Gas Insight, Power & Renewables Insight, and Mining (including coal) Insight.
BCC Research
BCC Research provides access to market research reports and market forecasting in advanced materials, biotechnology, chemicals, energy, healthcare, sensors, plastics, nanotechnology, and other emerging technologies. Over 250 research reports are published annually.
Featured Collections: Energy & Resources, Environment, and Fuel Cell & Battery Technologies.
Capital IQ
S&P Capital IQ provides both real-time and historical information on companies, markets, transactions, and people worldwide. Requires registering an individual account with a Yale email address. Individuals who do not want to create an individual account can use S&P NetAdvantage for similar functionality.
Featured Content: Midstream Oil & Gas; Utilities; Oil, Gas & Consumable Fuels
Frost & Sullivan
In-depth market research reports with strong coverage of the following industries: Aerospace & Defense, Auto & Transportation, Chemicals, Materials & Food; Electronics & Security; Environment & Building Technologies, Information & Communication Technology, and more.
IBISWorld
Features key statistics, product segmentation, and outlooks/forecasts for over 700 US industries. Also includes Global, UK, & China reports.
Featured Content: Wind Power in the US (May 2021); Solar Power in the US (September 2021); Nuclear Power in the US (September 2021); Hydroelectric Power in the US (August 2021); Global Oil & Gas Exploration & Production (February 2021); Electric Power Transmission in the US (November 21021); and Coal & Natural Gas Power in the US (September 2021).
Mergent Online
Provides information on U.S. and international companies. Key features include current and historical financial statement data, annual reports, company histories, subsidiaries, joint ventures, supply chain information and the Investext collection of analyst reports that were previously only available in Thomson ONE.
Featured Content: Electricity, Oil and Gas, and Renewable Energy Industry Reports for Asia Pacific, Europe, and North America.
S&P Capital IQ Pro (formerly S&P Global Market Intelligence and SNL Energy)
In-depth data, news, and analytics on the energy industries.
Featured Content: Power Daily with Market Report; Renewable Energy Week; Daily Gas Report; Daily Coal Report; Power Policy Week; Energy M&A Review (Monthly).
more...less...
Individual account required.
Capital IQ account holders can access directly using the Capital IQ Pro link in the upper right corner of the Captial IQ page.

Industry Statistics and Data

OECD iLibrary
Full-text books, journals, reports, and statistical data from the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD). Getting started guide available here.
Featured Content: Themes: Energy, Environment, and Nuclear Energy; World Energy Outlook - International Energy Agency; Energy Technology Perspectives (published every two years); Energy policies of IEA countries; Nuclear Energy Data.
Passport (Euromonitor)
Market data & research, consumer demographics, and data tables. Includes market size for over 330 products, trends, and more.
Featured Content: Country Energy Reports; Mining of Coal and Lignite Statistics.

Trade Associations

Member access provided by Yale Library

An association for energy professionals, providing non-partisan energy news, insights, and professional development opportunities. Yale Library's subscription provides current Yale students, faculty, and staff with full access to all member benefits, including access to publications, reports and white papers, and a comprehensive archive. New users will need to register for an individual account using a valid Yale email address .

American Clean Power

The American Clean Power Association (ACP) is the leading voice of today’s multi-tech clean energy industry, representing energy storage, wind, utility-scale solar, clean hydrogen, and transmission companies. Offers information and best practices, proprietary industry data, and a resource library. Previously the American Wind Energy Association.

Have questions? Ask us!

Management, Economics & Entrepreneurship Librarians

Email Me

Contact:

Marx Science and Social Science Library
Yale University Library
219 Prospect Street - Concourse Level

The Team: Allison Gallaspy & Erin Wachowicz

Schedule an Appointment

Subjects: Business and Management, Economics

Energy Industry: Industry and Market Overviews

Overviews and Analysis

Industry Statistics and Data

Trade Associations

Have questions? Ask us!

Site Navigation

Yale's Libraries