To access the relevant chapter, click "online book".

A publication of the (US) National Intelligence Council

Global demographic data from the US Census office.

Data from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development

Data portal for the United Nations.

Data on international aid distribution from the US.

Through the European Union's site.

Free and open access to global development data

The World health statistics report is the World Health Organization’s (WHO) annual compilation of the most recent available data on health and health-related indicators.

Cambridge Histories spans subject areas across the humanities and social sciences, with a concentration on political and cultural history, literature, philosophy, religious studies, music and the arts.

The International bibliography of the social sciences includes bibliographic references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951. It has a broad coverage of international material and incorporates many languages and countries. Includes content from the print indexes: International bibliography of economics, International bibliography of political science, International bibliography of anthropology (earlier called International bibliography of social and cultural anthropology), and International bibliography of sociology.

Provides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and basic sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline, or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts. New issues of existing titles and new titles are added approximately on a weekly basis.

Cross-searchable library containing the full text and abstracts of classic and newly published Oxford books in the areas of anthropology; archaeology; biology; business and management; classical studies; economics and finance; film, television and radio; history; law; linguistics; literature; mathematics; music; neuroscience; palliative care; philosophy; physics; political science; psychology; public health and epidemiology; religion; social work; society and culture; and sociology.

Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is composed of a number of specialized research networks in the social sciences. Topics covered by networks include accounting, economics, financial economics, legal scholarship, and management (including negotiation and marketing). The SSRN eLibrary consists of abstracts of scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers and an electronic paper collection of downloadable full text documents in pdf format.

Multidisciplinary database with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the social sciences.

"The Annenberg Public Policy Center of the University of Pennsylvania has been the premier communication policy center in the country since its founding in 1993. By conducting and releasing research, staging conferences and hosting policy discussions, its scholars have addressed the role of communication in politics, adolescent behavior, child development, health care, civics and mental health, among other important arenas. The Center’s researchers have drafted materials that helped policy-makers, journalists, scholars, constituent groups and the general public better understand the role that media play in their lives and the life of the nation." (About the Center)

CSIS is a bipartisan, non-profit organization focused on "defense and security; regional stability; and transnational challenges ranging from energy and climate to global development and economic integration."

CIAO includes policy briefs from many sources.

The Google Tech Policy blog contains relevant policy related materials based on technology

"The Institution for Social and Policy Studies advances interdisciplinary research in the social sciences that aims to shape public policy and inform democratic deliberation." (About ISPS)

"Access to thousands of case studies, evaluations, white papers, and issue briefs addressing some of the world's most pressing social problems."

Includes journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more.

PolicyArchive is a digital archive of public policy research that includes summaries and full texts, videos, reports, briefs, and multimedia material from think tank, university, government, and foundation-funded policy research. Search by topic, author, funding agency, and more.

Select the "Research" tab to find research briefs and other policy-oriented publications.