Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Yale Library COVID-19 updates.

Grammars for Linguists: In the Catalog

Information on locating reference (and other) grammars for use in linguistics, with an emphasis on ebooks.

Grammars in the HathiTrust

QuickSearch Books+ can be accessed directly or via the main library web site. This set of instructions will walk you through locating grammars in the catalog.

The main QuickSearch results page lets us choose between viewing all results and viewing only the online ones.

For this example, we will look for grammars of the Seneca language by typing Seneca grammar into the search box, which is not case-sensitive. On the results page, we see Books+ on the left and Articles+ on the right.

Note that in the results, we are seeing both Seneca the language and Seneca the Roman philosopher/statesman. This is one of the reasons why examining results set and filtering (in this case, by subject) can be important to improve the results set.

A search for Seneca grammars in Books+

Above is an example of what happens when we only view online results. Note that on the lefthand side, we can filter by publication date, how recently the item was added to the collection, language, location, and so on. There are also a few subject filters that we can use if we scroll.

A specific record

Seneca word list and text: Notes was eighth on the results list. We are now viewing the record page, where we can click through to the online book. This record has a very long Notes field, and the reason it appeared in our search results is that the word grammar is used in the Notes. Searching All Fields (the default option) is very broad; limiting to something like Title or Subject in our search will limit the results.

Many books will also list tables of contents and other important information in the text on the record's lefthand side. Let's continue scrolling …

A specific record, continued, emphasizing the links to subject terms.

At the bottom of the metadata (information about the book), we see several subject terms. These are clickable, and we can find other items related to the book we are looking at when we click on them.

Clicking on a subject will show everything with that subject term.

The second subject links us to three results, all from the Adam Matthew Digital collection.

We can toggle the fields we are searching or use the advanced search. We can also remove the online only filter.

Another way to search is to use the advanced search, located to the right of the blue search button and the search box.

If we wanted to toggle between viewing all and online-only resources, we can also do that above the search results.

Advanced search for Seneca language

We can construct a search using Boolean operators (see the tab on Boolean for more info) and limit the fields we are searching. Above, I'm looking for anything where grammar and Seneca are the subjects, and I am joining them with the AND operator. My search will return 8 results, many of them not about the language.

Seneca language item record

The first result is Chafe's A Grammar of the Seneca Language. This book is in print and available, so it gives us several important options for pickup and delivery, both electronically and physically. We can click on the subject term to see what we find.

Results after we click on the subject term for Seneca

Clicking on the subject term limits us to two results.

This tab will guide you through locating grammars in the HathiTrust via QuickSearch Books+, our library catalog. Most users, however, begin from the main library web site and use the QuickSearch box there.

The QuickSearch main search screen, with a circle around Books+ and one of the HathiTrust location codes.

When one begins at the main library web site and searches (here, for Catalan grammars), one first sees results from both Books+ and Articles+. In the Books+ column, note that we can already see a result from the HathiTrust in the first few results. Let's click on all of the results (not just the online ones!) at first to get a better idea of what we have.

The QuickSearch Books+ screen, viewing both print and online results.

If you've started searching from the main Books+ search box, or if you've clicked through to view all of the results from the QuickSearch combined results page, you will come to this screen next. The first result is from the HathiTrust, but the other results are from a variety of locations, like SML. The filters on the lefthand side will let us refine the results soon.

Here are three copies of the same book. The first and third ones are in SML and the HathiTrust respectively. Let's take a look at the SML one.

In the search done for this walkthrough, items 10-12 are all the same book, Max Wheeler's Catalan: A Comprehensive Grammar. To explain what HathiTrust ETAS is, we will look at 10 and 12. 10 is from SML, and 12 is from the HathiTrust.

Please note that even without ETAS (Emergency Temporary Access Service), we do have access to some things in the HathiTrust: Public domain, digitized works and some additional titles. ETAS is activated when something prevents us from making use of our physical copies, like the pandemic.

This print item is not available because it is in the HathiTrust Temporary Emergency Access Service.

When we click on Item 10, you can see what ETAS does. Print checkouts are deactivated for items in ETAS so we can ensure that we (a) comply with copyright law and (b) make every book as accessible as possible. For each print copy, we have one e-copy. Ergo, Item 10 will redirect us to visit the HathiTrust item. Click on Item 12 to check it out from the HathiTrust webpage. This box's second tab (see navigation) or the video to the right will show you what you need to click to check the book out at the HathiTrust.

In QuickSearch Books+, we can select the HathiTrust Digital Library location code in the Location filter.

We can filter to just see results from the HathiTrust using the Location filter. (I have already chosen to limit to online results only. If you haven't, you may see more locations here.)

Now we have the filter selected. We can toggle between is/is not from here, which can remove results from the search.

With the filter for the HathiTrust selected, we can view just items from the HathiTrust. Note that if you did not want to see any results from the HathiTrust (AKA you want to limit to our non-Hathi Trust ebook providers), you could toggle IS/IS NOT in the small drop-down that appears within the filter to do that.

If you want to search the HathiTrust via the HathiTrust main search page, this provides some brief guidance before going into screenshots about checking things out using the Emergency Temporary Access Service (ETAS).

The HathiTrust main page, with our search terms in the box. We have switched from full-text to catalog and unchecked full view only.

To see everything, make sure that you are looking in the catalog records (as full text usually returns too many results) and that you have unchecked "full view only." This will show many items that we don't technically have access to, and this can be useful when thinking about what to request via interlibrary loan.

As a note, if you kept "full view only" checked, you would be shown the items in the HathiTrust that we have access to via both ETAS and our ordinary HathiTrust digital access. The books in the latter category may be downloaded and do not need to be checked out.

Once you are done, click Search HathiTrust.

Results screen shows many things that are not accessible if one isn't logged in.

The above screen shows what the search results look like when one is not logged in. The records here show that something is limited (search only), and another item requires one to view the record to see information about individual volumes in a series.

When one logs in, the menu bar at the top of the screen will indicate that. One now also has access to My Collections.

Once logged in, the search results change to indicate that some items are available via ETAS. Of course, among the results, there will also be some results asking you to visit the record to see the availability of a multi-part series, and other records are full-text access without restrictions.

Let's discuss how to access an ETAS title.

Clicking on a temporary access title will lead to this screen. There is a bar that asks if we want to check the title out.

Clicking on the temporary access title leads to this screen. We have some metadata (information about the book) on the lefthand side, with a blank page with a search box in the middle. (Using the search box will show you which pages a term is described on, so even if something isn't accessible via ETAS, this can be helpful if you are trying to determine which pages to request via interlibrary loan.) Since this title is available for checkout, we can check out the title by clicking the button that says "Check Out" in the orange bar that indicates this is available through ETAS.

The title is now checked out for an hour. It will renew as long as we are actively looking at the book.

The title is now checked out for an hour. It will renew as long as we are actively looking at the book.

A full-text-access book can be downloaded.

The above image shows what a record looks like as part of our ordinary HathiTrust access. This is a public domain work, and we have links to download it on the left-hand side because it is out of copyright.

You can add the book to a collection when logged in. This will save it for later.

For any item, once logged in, you can add the book to a collection to save it. Creating a collection means that you can come back to a specific set of books later without needing to repeat a search.

The new collection with the Catalan grammar.

Here is a collection (one item), accessible via My Collections in the top menu bar once logged in.

Happy researching!

HathiTrust Video Demo

QuickSearch Video Demo