Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
COVID-19 Update: Important information about visiting the medical library and continued remote services and support.

Yale Library Today's Hours: Search the websiteOff-campus access

HSHM 406: Healthcare for the Urban Poor: Home

Guide for Sakena Abedin's seminar, HSHM 406/HIST 150J: Healthcare for the Urban Poor

Are you off-campus?

Use the VPN!

To access online resources from a non-Yale network, you will need to connect to the VPN using Cisco AnyConnect. Instructions on installing the VPN software are available here.

Remember to start your VPN client when you start doing research — not when you want to download something. Web sites use cookies to determine who should and shouldn't have access, and most access issues from off-campus happen when an older cookie doesn't refresh when the VPN connection is established. If that happens to you, clear the cookies for the web site you are visiting (or open a different browser) and try again.

Welcome!

This guide provides a starting point for researchers inside and outside of Yale to find resources related to the history of healthcare and the urban poor.  For any research questions, please email Melissa Grafe using the link in the box on the right.

This guide will:

  • Describe search strategies for finding primary and secondary sources.
  • Provide links to online primary and secondary sources.

General resources

Background sources (or “reference” works) are great places to start. Reference works include scholarly encyclopedias, handbooks, scholarly “companions," and similar sources that contain essays providing background information on a topic and overviews of the relevant scholarship. Citations to the secondary literature will always be included, and often so too will citations to primary sources.  Here are some of these recommended resources:

Oxford Bibliographies

Many annotated bibliographies in a variety of fields, often with citations to both primary and secondary sources.

There are bibliographies related to urban health, and the built environment and health, including histories of these topics, but be sure to search the whole database too, as you'll also often find relevant articles in other modules.


Oxford Handbooks

A useful collection of many handbooks, each with numerous articles. Browse and search for single chapters or whole books such as The Oxford Handbook of the History of Medicine, and articles such as "Poverty, Health, and Healthcare."


Oxford Research Encyclopedia of American History

A scholarly encyclopedia that is a great place to start your research. Each article has a "Discussion of the Literature" that usually has many recommendations for secondary and primary sources.

Articles include "Contagious Disease and Public Health in the American City" and "The American City and Environmental Pollution."

Librarian for Medical History

Melissa Grafe's picture
Melissa Grafe
Contact:
John R. Bumstead Librarian for Medical History
Cushing/Whitney Medical Library
Yale University
333 Cedar Street
New Haven, CT 06510
203-785-4354
Website