Link to the online finding aid for this collection in Archives at Yale

Overview: Correspondence, subject files, reports, memoranda, planning records, minutes of meetings, speeches, and biographical clippings documenting all aspects of Charles Seymour's activities as president (1937-1950) of Yale University.

Collection material used in class session:

Series I. Correspondence and subject files

• Box 129
  • Folder 1089: President's Committee on Foreign Area and Language Studies, 1943-1948
  • Folder 1090: President's Committee on Methods of Teaching Foreign Languages in the Undergraduate Schools, 1944-1945
• Box 131
  • Folder 1103: President's Committee to Study the Post-War Aspects of Campus Life--Spiritual and Moral, 1944-1946

Series II. War emergency planning records

• Box 182, folder 9: Army Specialized Training Program, 1942-1946
• Box 183
  • Folders 10-12: Army Specialized Training Program, Comments on the program and program information for medical students at the Medical School, 1942-1946
  • Folders 13-14: Army Specialized and Navy Collegiate Training Program, 1942-1943
  • Folder 15: Army and Navy Staff College, 1946
• Box 184
  • Folders 26-28; Committee on Preparation for War Service, curricula, minutes, and pamphlets, 1942-1943
  • Folder 32: Committee to Study the Post-War Relationship of the University to the Community, 1944
• Box 185, folder 43: Letters to President Seymour from Yale men overseas, 1944-1945
• Box 186
  • Folder 58: Naval Training Program, 1940
  • Folder 59: Navy College Training Program, 1943-1946
• Box 187
  • Folders 60-63: Navy College Training Program, 1943-1946
  • Folder 64: (U.S.) Navy Department, general, 1941-1946
  • Folder 65: (U.S.) Navy Department, Advisory Committee on Officer Procurement and Training in the Colleges, 1942-1945
  • Folder 66:​​​​​​​ (U.S.) Navy Department, "Buying a Navy," 1946 May
• Box 189, folder 82:​​​​​​​ Staff Officers Asiatic Studies Course, 1945-1946

Link to the online finding aid for this collection in Archives at Yale

Overview: Photographs of Army and Navy Reserve Officers Training Corps (ROTC and NROTC), Signal Corps, Yale Batteries, and Civil Affairs Training program activities at Yale during World War I and World War II. Includes images of drilling instruction, exercises, and artillery practice. There are a few photographs of Yale students during the Spanish-American War. 

Collection materials used in class session:

• Box 3
  • Folders 20-23: World War II, ROTC (Army)
  • Folders 24-26: World War II, Navy ROTC
  • Folders 27-30: World War II, general

Link to the online finding aid for this collection in Archives at Yale

Overview: Correspondence, subject files, reports, and related materials concerning alumni relations; Corporation affairs; the dedication and use of Yale buildings; commemorations and memorials; commencement activities; Yale traditions; honorary degrees; lectures; prizes; war activities. Also included are records of the Council Committee on Publications and annual reports from schools, departments, and offices.

Collection materials used in class session:

• Box 183, folder 531: Fisher, H.B. [F.B.I.], 1943-1953

Link to the online finding aid for this collection in Archives at Yale

Overview: Correspondence, writings, course material, legal documents, and printed material that document Thomas Emerson's career as a lawyer and law professor. Emerson, a passionate civil libertarian throughout his life, graduated from Yale College in 1928 and Yale Law School in 1931. He worked in several capacities in the New Deal during the Roosevelt administration and taught on the Yale Law School faculty from 1946-1976.

Collection materials used in class session:

• Box 8, folders 115-125: Academic freedom cases and symposia, 1949-1983
• Box 9, folders 126-134: Academic freedom cases and symposia, 1961-1981
• Box 16, folders 238-240: Communist Party USA and the Communist Control Act of 1954, approximately 1954-1960
• Box 22, folders 324-331: Emergency Civil Liberties Committee, 1951-1987
• Box 24, folders 357-360: Federal anti-subversion legislation and FBI, 1947-1987
• Box 37, folders 528-544: Loyalty programs, 1947-1985
• Box 38, folders 545-556: Loyalty programs, 1940-1965

Link to the online finding aid for this collection in Archives at Yale

Overview: Lavietes graduated from Sheffield Scientific School, Yale University, in 1927 and from the Yale Medical School in 1930. The papers consist of correspondence, writings, and research material relating to his career, and include items relating to his investigation for possible Communist sympathies by the Veterans Administration and the House Un-American Activities Committee (HUAC).

Collection materials used in class session:

• Box 2, folders 1-4: Legal files, correspondence, and testimony concerning the investigation of Lavietes for suspected Communist sympathies, 1956