Link to the Archives at Yale finding aid for this collection

Overview: The collection documents the apartheid system in South Africa and the different stages of the liberation struggle which was instrumental in bringing about the decline of the system. The collection consists of printed materials such as newsclippings, publications, reports, press releases, newsletters, pamphlets and newspapers of the South African government, parliamentary parties, non-parliamentary groups such as the African National Congress, and American and other foreign groups. Also included in the collection are posters which illustrate the inequities perpetrated by the South African government and the resulting resistance.

Series VI: Disinvestment/Divestment, 1978-1987

• Box 23, folders 325-326: Yale University, 1978-1986

Link to the Archives at Yale finding aid for this collection

Overview: Publications, correspondence, reports, statements, and collected material document the work of the Washington Office on Africa and the issues addressed by its work. The Washington Office on Africa was founded in 1972 to support the movement for freedom from white-minority rule in southern Africa. Its activities have included the monitoring of Congressional legislation and executive policies and actions, as well as the publication of action alerts and other documentation designed to advance progressive legislation and policy on southern Africa. Supported by church bodies and unions, the WOA has worked in partnership with colleagues in Africa, the Africa advocacy community in the United States, and grassroots organizations concerned with various aspects of African affairs.

Series I: Organization and Policy Records

• Box 1, folders 1-16: Minutes and Reports, 1974-1991

Series II: Correspondence and Staff Records

• Box 2, folders 1-9: Executive Directors Files, 1972-1991

Series IV: WOA Programs

• Box 13, folders 66-69: Work with Students
• Box 19, folder 156: National Protest Day for South African Divestment and Sanctions, 10 Oct 1986 and other actions re. divestment

Link to Webpage

Overview: The Yale Daily News, founded on January 28, 1878, is the oldest college daily newspaper published in the United States. The Yale Daily News Historical Archive provides access to digitized versions of printed issues of the Yale Daily News. The full text of these issues is indexed and searchable through the web interface. The historical archive is open to the world and includes over 140 years of YDN reporting. Issues were scanned from print volumes held by the Yale Library and, for more recent issues, collected in PDF format from the Yale Daily News. In some cases, issues were missing from Yale’s collection. We were able to fill in some but not all missing issues through the cooperation of the Yale Club of New York City.

YDN Historical Archive (online resource):

• Coverage of Anti-Apartheid Protests at Yale, 1985-1986

YDN bound volumes:

• YDN, vol. 108 (1985-1986 academic year), call number: YYg15 N47

Link to the Archives at Yale finding aid for this collection

Overview: This collection documents Samuel Slie's work with numerous organizations involved in student Christian work, ecumenical issues, and social justice, particularly in New Haven and New England. The papers complement organizational archives held at the Yale Divinity School Library, including the archives of the Student Christian Movement in New England, University Christian Movement, United Ministries in Higher Education, and National Campus Ministry Association. Samuel Slie, a Yale Divinity School graduate, was involved in religious work with college and university students in New England and served as Associate University Pastor at Yale.

Series VI -- Addendum 2010

• Box 27, folder 2: Africa (see also “South Africa,” “Coalition Against Apartheid,” “Course-Related”)

Link to the Archives at Yale finding aid for this collection

Overview: Motion pictures and audiorecordings documenting Yale. Included are films of news coverage and interviews, class reunions, commencements, presidential inaugurations, football games, and other events and activities at Yale.

Accession 19ND-A-420

• Box 92: Yale anti-apartheid protest, 1986

Link to the Archives at Yale finding aid for this collection

Overview: The materials consist of press photos taken by the Office of Public Affairs, formerly known as the News Bureau and the Office of Public Information to document events and activities at Yale.

TEMP BOX (6 folders pulled to facilitate use in class session):

• Accession 2009-A-070, Box 11, folder 862: South Africa: Divestment protests, April 1986
• Accession 2009-A-070, Box 11, folder 863: Press conference, July 1986
• Accession 2009-A-070, Box 11, folder 864: Apartheid protests, The Wall, taking it down, February 1991
• Accession 2009-A-070, Box 11, folder 865: Yale Political Union conference, "America's responsibilities towards South Africa," September 1977
• Accession 2009-A-070, Box 11, folder 866-867: Apartheid protest, Shantytown fire, June 1988

Link to the Archives at Yale finding aid for this collection

Overview: The records consist of biographical material, speeches, interviews, and television transcripts by or about Kingman Brewster, Jr., A. Bartlett Giamatti, Benno C. Schmidt and Howard Lamar as presidents of Yale University.

Series Accession 1988-A-054: Speeches and articles concerning A. Bartlett Giamatti, 1960-1987

• Box 10, folder 243: "Yale Shanties May Rise Again. Giamatti Defends His Administration's Handling of Protest", 1986 April 19

Link to the Archives at Yale finding aid for this collection

Overview: The files of ethicist Jon P. Gunnemann document a variety of activities on the topic of ethical investing in which he was involved while a graduate student at Yale University. The materials include correspondence, notes, background research files, and reports relating to the work of the Yale Student-Faculty Committee on Responsible Institutional Investment and the seminar on Yale's investments that grew out of the committee's work. The remainder of the collection consists of drafts and notes relating to the book The Ethical Investor: Universities and Corporate Responsibility, written by John G. Simon, Charles W. Powers, and Jon P. Gunnemann as a result of their work in the seminar.

Series Accession 2009-A-177: Jon P. Gunnemann Files on Ethical Investments at Yale, 1952-1974

• Box 3, folder 15: South Africa Team, 1970
• Box 4, folder 24: Notes from Meetings, 1968-1969

Link to the Archives at Yale finding aid for this collection

Overview: The collection documents Michael L. Charney's student activism while attending the Yale School of Medicine from 1968-1972. The collection also includes materials documenting Charney witnessing and reporting arson of a student anti-apartheid protest structure on the Beinecke plaza in 1988. Materials include newsletters, pamphlets, newspaper clippings, documents, correspondence, ephemera, and posters.

Series VI. Yale, 1968-1988

• Box 6, folder 3: Anti-apartheid shantytown arson at Yale, 1988
• Box 14, folder 10: Anti-apartheid shantytown arson at Yale, clippings, 1988

Link to the Archives at Yale finding aid for this collection

Overview: The records consist of correspondence, notes, memoranda, newsclippings, and flyers, maintained by Christopher Lowe and Ann Braude documenting student activism, sexual harassment, affirmative action, and women's groups at Yale. Records concerning the following groups and events are included: the Yale Student Labor Support Group; the Coalition Against Apartheid; T. A. Solidarity (TAS) and the Graduate Employees and Students Organization (GESO); the 1984 and 1988 labor strikes at Yale; and the student anti-war movement against the Gulf War

Series Accession 1994-A-089: Materials documenting student activism at Yale maintained by Christopher Lowe, circa 1984-1991

• Box 1, folders 33-55: Coalition Against Apartheid [folders have been split into 2 temporary boxes for use in the class session]

Link to the Archives at Yale finding aid for this collection

Overview: Subject files maintained by the dean of Undergraduate Affairs and Student Affairs of Yale College, concerning the administration of undergraduate student life, student organizations, orientation programs, athletics, and student housing.

TEMP BOX (4 folders pulled from otherwise restricted boxes):

• Accession 1989-A-029, Box 1, folder 2: Anti-apartheid Coalition at Yale, 1978-1981
• Accession 1991-A-022, Box 1, folder 31: Anti-apartheid Coalition at Yale, 1983
• Accession 1990-A-016, Box 1, folder 46: Anti-apartheid Coalition at Yale, 1984-1986
• Accession 1990-A-157, Box 4, folder 204: Coalition Against Apartheid, 1987