Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
: The medical library is open to users authorized to be on campus. Visit this page
Biomedical Databases and Image Repositories
Health Education Assets Library (HEAL)
The Health Education Assets Library (HEAL) is a digital library that provides freely accessible digital teaching materials of the highest quality that meet the needs of today's health sciences educators and learners.
Searchable databases of image files and simulations for download and use.
Images from the History of Medicine (IHM)
This system provides access to the nearly 60,000 images in the prints and photograph collection of the History of Medicine Division (HMD) of the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM). The collection includes portraits, pictures of institutions, caricatures, genre scenes, and graphic art in a variety of media, illustrating the social and historical aspects of medicine.
The Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC) developed MedEdPORTAL as a free publishing venue and dissemination portal to support educators and learners as they create and use on-line teaching materials, assessment tools, and faculty developmnent resources. MedEdPORTAL contains peer reviewed teaching and faculty development materials and assessment tools.
MERLOT (Multimedia Educational Resource for Learning and Online Teaching)
MERLOT is a free and open resource designed primarily for faculty and students of higher education. Links to online learning materials are collected here along with annotations such as peer reviews and assignments. This link is to the Health Sciences Portal page.
NIH Image Gallery on flickr (National Institutes of Health)
The NIH Photo Galleries provide photos and illustrations from many organizations under the NIH umbrella. There is a searchable image bank as well.
Biomedical Image Directories
Compilations of links from a variety of sources on the web that contain images.
Public Health Image Library (PHIL) (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention)
PHIL offers an organized, universal electronic gateway to CDC's pictures. We welcome public health professionals, the media, laboratory scientists, educators, students, and the worldwide public to use this material for reference, teaching, presentation, and public health messages. The content is organized into hierarchical categories of people, places, and science, and is presented as single images, image sets, and multimedia files.
General Image Resources
American Memory (Library of Congress)
American Memory is a gateway to the Library of Congress’s vast resources of digitized American historical materials. Comprising more than 9 million items that document U.S. history and culture, American Memory is organized into more than 100 thematic collections based on their original format, their subject matter, or who first created, assembled, or donated them to the Library.
Google Image Search
Google claims that its Image Search is the most comprehensive on the Web, with billions of images indexed and available for viewing. The Advanced Image Search function allows you to customize your search and to limit your retrieval by such things as image size, coloration or format. You can also choose to return images from a particular domain, e.g., .edu or .org.
Selected Images from Digitized Collections at CWML