The Irving S. Gilmore Music Library at Yale University is one of the world's foremost music libraries, with one of the largest collections in the United States. The collections include many books, periodicals, scores, recordings, and licensed online resources. In addition there are special collections which have rare editions, manuscripts, archival collections, historic recordings, and interviews with composers and musicians.
The music library's circulating collections, reference collections, and periodicals are open to visitors for browsing.
CDs, DVDs, LPs, and VHS tape may be requested at the Circulation Desk for use in the Listening Room by leaving a photoID at the desk.
Self-service scanners are available in the library.
The library lends books, scores, CDs and DVDs through Interlibrary Loan.
Music educators may place requests to borrow circulating books, scores, CDs, & DVDs using the interlibrary loan service at their preferred public library. There is no charge for loans to public libraries in Connecticut.
Library collections are cataloged in Quicksearch Books+. An advanced search is available. Quicksearch is accessible to anyone with an internet connection at no charge. In addition, Quicksearch has areas that link to special collections (Archives or Manuscripts search) and digitized collections (Digital Collections). Thumbnails point to online digitized special collections. Many works are in the public domain and therefore freely accessible to any interested researcher. Others require only an online registration and acknowledgement of copyright in order to access digital content within minutes.
Email: Music Library (responses on weekdays)
Circulation desk: 203-432-0496 (Hours)
@YALELIBRARY
© 2022 Yale University Library • All Rights Reserved