Skip to main content

New Faculty Library Orientation: Home

Guide for New Faculty Library Orientation 2018

Welcome!

Welcome to Yale Library's guide for new faculty attending New Faculty Orientation 2018.

Date: Tues., Aug. 21, 2018

Time:  9 a.m. – noon

Place: Irving S. Gilmore Music Library (in Sterling Memorial Library) 120 High St.

The Yale University Library will host an open-house orientation to Library services and collections on Tues., Aug. 21 from 9 a.m. to noon in the Irving S. Gilmore Music Library, located inside of Sterling Memorial Library. 

Join us for a continental breakfast and an opportunity to meet subject specialist, course-reserves, interlibrary loan, data, geographic information systems, and digital humanities librarians who will share information about Yale’s collections and related services.

For more information contact:

Jill Parchuck (jill.parchuck@yale.edu), Associate University Librarian for Science, Social Science, and Medicine

Allen Townsend (allen.townsend@yale.edu), Associate University Librarian for Arts and Humanities

10 Things New Faculty Should Know About Yale Library

  1. You’ll want to set up off-campus access to library resources right away. Instructions can be found here: http://web.library.yale.edu/help/off-campus-access-vpn
  2. You have liberal borrowing privileges and can borrow regular circulating materials for one year (up to 500 books/loans). http://guides.library.yale.edu/borrow/fac
  3. It’s easy to renew library materials online. Just go to “Your Library Account” link in the upper right hand corner of the Yale Library website or from within the library catalog to renew items.
  4. You can borrow books and request articles from other research library collections across North America and delivery is fast. With Borrow Direct, you can typically expect delivery within 2-4 days. With Interlibrary Loan, it’s 4-14+ days. For more info, see Get it @Yale: http://guides.library.yale.edu/getit
  5. There are twenty libraries and collections at Yale. Check the library homepage for current hours of operation and changes to library hours due to inclement weather. 
  6. You can request that items be placed on e-reserve or regular print reserve at select library locations: https://guides.library.yale.edu/reserves 
  7. Looking for resources in your discipline? We likely have a research guide for it: https://guides.library.yale.edu/?b=s 
  8. Do your students need library research skills instruction? Feel free to contact your subject librarian with questions, suggestions, or to request a library research skills session for a class.
  9. Send requests for new materials to be purchased for Yale Library collections here: http://web.library.yale.edu/form/purchase-request
  10. Yale libraries hold a wealth of special collections that may be used for teaching and research: https://guides.library.yale.edu/specialcollections 

Digital and Image Collections

Yale Subject Librarians

Yale Library subject specialists are here to support your teaching and research in a variety of ways. From individual research consultations for students and faculty to classroom visits and workshops, we're here to help.

Here is a listing of our librarians by subject: https://web.library.yale.edu/subject-specialists.

If you are not sure who to contact, send your request to askyale@gmail.com

Yale Library News

Loading ...