Yale University Library Research Guides: Online Exhibitions: Getting Started

What is an Online Exhibition at Yale?

Online exhibitions showcase Yale University Library collections in an organized fashion. Yale students, faculty, and staff can create stand-alone online exhibitions highlighting their research supported by Yale collections, or as companions to physical exhibitions that use our library collections.

An online exhibition isn’t a digital collection, a place to drop your images. Each exhibition includes careful selection, curation, narration, and consideration of your audience. Email us if you have questions about whether your project fits this criteria.

IMPORTANT LINKS

Sample Exhibitions

The Kings at Yale This online exhibition highlights the visits to Yale by Martin Luther King Jr (1959 and 1964) and Coretta Scott King (1969) and complements the physical exhibit, annually displayed in the Sterling Memorial Library Nave as part of Yale’s celebration of the birthday of Martin Luther King Jr. The materials featured in “The Kings at Yale” are reproductions of records housed in Manuscripts and Archives, Yale University Library.
Language is Everywhere Through print, speech, and sign, we use language to interact with the world around us. Language provides the labels for the social categories we use to describe the world. It’s beautiful, and it’s also systematic. Yet it's so ubiquitous we often take it for granted. This Model Research Collection makes language more visible by showing the different ways it contributes to the study of our lives: how language opens a window into the mind and brain; how children acquire language; how languages are lost and created around the world; and how language can be used, like archaeology with words, to study the past.
Women in Science and Engineering at Yale University 2020 Edition The creation of the Women in Science and Engineering 2020 Edition exhibit was inspired by Yale University’s celebration of 50 years of undergraduate coeducation and the 150th year anniversary of female graduate students at Yale. We hope to raise spirits and encourage STEM students with the profiles of historical and current women figures who have persevered in their endeavors. Featured is Brenda Zlamany’s commissioned painting, Portrait of Yale’s First Seven Women PhDs.

First Steps

Contact a committee member to discuss your online exhibition idea, or email us at: online.exhibitions@yale.edu
Review the documentation under the Resources & Best Practices section. The handbook provides a step-by-step overview of creating an exhibition using our online platform, Omeka S.
Submit a proposal, which will be reviewed by the Online Exhibitions Committee.
You will be contacted with any follow-up questions about your proposal, and assigned a liaison if you do not already have one. You will also receive login credentials to Omeka S.
Get started! If you run into any problems, reach out to your liaison and/or another member of the Online Exhibitions Committee.

Online Exhibitions Committee

online.exhibitions@yale.edu

Sarah Davis
Trip Kirkpatrick

Online Exhibitions: Getting Started

What is an Online Exhibition at Yale?

Sample Exhibitions

First Steps

Online Exhibitions Committee

Site Navigation

Yale's Libraries