Yale University Library Research Guides: Open Access: Open Access Publishing Support

APC Waivers

Yale University Library's Open Access agreement with the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) provides unlimited read access to content in the ACM Digital Library and waives article processing charges for Yale and YNHH affiliated authors who wish to publish open access in an ACM journal.

View a full listing of ACM journals here: The ACM Full-Text Collection.

To publish open access with no article processing charge, the Yale or YNHH affiliated author must:

Be the corresponding author, the person who handles the manuscript and correspondence during the publication process, including approving the article proofs.
have an article accepted for publication during the term of this agreement (August 1, 2022 until December 31, 2025 with the option to renew after that period).
Use an approved email domain during submission to confirm eligibility: yale.edu or ynhh.org
Select one of 3 ACM Publication Licenses.

Author resources:

Submitting Articles to ACM Journals

Cambridge University Press Journals

Yale Library's Read and Publish Agreement waives article processing charges (APC) for Yale University and Yale-New Haven Hospital researchers publishing in Cambridge University Press fully open access and hybrid journals.

In order to publish an open access article, the author must:

be the corresponding author
have an article accepted for publication during the term of this agreement (January 1, 2022 to December 31, 2024).
provide Cambridge UP details of their affiliation with Yale University or Yale-New Haven Hospital, preferably using their yale.edu or ynhh.org email address.
sign a License to Publish Form or equivalent documentation, as required by the Cambridge journal publishing the article, and selecting a Creative Commons License.

Author Resources:

Step-by Step Guide to Publishing Open Access in Cambridge Journals

Institute of Physics Publishing (IOPP)

Yale Library's Institutional Open Access Agreement with the Institute of Physics Publishing (IOPP) provides unlimited read access to IOP journals and waives article processing charges for Yale and YNHH affiliated authors who wish to publish open access.

A list of included journals can be found here: https://publishingsupport.iopscience.iop.org/questions/eligible-journals-transformative-agreements/

To publish open access with no article processing charge, the Yale of YNHH author must:

Be the corresponding author, the person who handles the manuscript and correspondence during the publication process, including approving the article proofs.
Submit a manuscript of the following type: paper, special issue paper, review and/or letter to a journal covered under this agreement.
Have a manuscript accepted for publication under the term of this agreement (January 1, 2023 to December 31, 2025 with the option to renew after that period).
Select a Creative Commons license.

Additional resources for authors who wish to publish open access in IOPP journals can be found here: https://publishingsupport.iopscience.iop.org/questions/submit-under-a-transformative-agreement-guide/

Journal of Agriculture, Food Systems, and Community Development

Yale University Library's agreement with the open access Journal of Agriculture, Food Systems, and Community Developmpent waives publishing fees for Yale or YNHH-affiliated authors who meet the following criteria:

Be the corresponding author, the person who handles the manuscript and correspondence during the publication process, including approving the article proofs.
have an article accepted for publication during the term of this agreement.
Use an approved email domain during submission to confirm eligibility: yale.edu or ynhh.org
Use a Creative Commons CC BY 4.0 license.

Microbiology Society

Yale University Library's Publish & Read agreement with the Microbiology Society provides unlimited read access to Society journals and waives article processing charges for Yale and YNHH affiliated authors who wish to publish open access.

The included journals are:

Fully open access

Microbial Genomics
Access Microbiology

Hybrid open access journals:

Microbiology
Journal of General Virology
Journal of Medical Microbiology
International Journal of Systematic and Evolutionary Microbiology

To publish open access with no article processing charge, the Yale or YNHH affiliated author must:

Be the corresponding author, the person who handles the manuscript and correspondence during the publication process, including approving the article proofs.
have an article accepted for publication during the term of this agreement (now until December 31, 2024 with the option to renew after that period).
Use an approved email domain during submission to confirm eligibility: yale.edu or ynhh.org
Select a Creative Commons license.

The Microbiology Society has provided additional resources to help authors navigate the process: https://www.microbiologyresearch.org/resources

PLOS

The Yale University Library holds two agreements with PLOS that eliminate article processing charges for Yale and Yale New Haven Hospital affiliated authors.

Community Action Publishing eliminates author costs for PLOS's two flagship journals: PLOS Biology and PLOS Medicine, and the Flat Fee Agreement eliminates author costs for all other PLOS publications, including any new journals launched during the contract term. Yale or YNHH authors who publish in PLOS Biology and PLOS Medicine but do not act as the corresponding author will receive a 25% APC discount.

Covered journals are:

PLOS Biology
PLOS Medicine
PLOS One
PLOS Climate
PLOS Computational Biology
PLOS Digital Health
PLOS Genetics
PLOS Global Public Health
PLOS Neglected Tropical Diseases
PLOS Pathogens
PLOS Sustainability & Transformations
PLOS Water

To publish an open access article at no cost, the author must:

Act as the corresponding author, the person who handles the manuscript and correspondence during the publication process, including providing the article proofs.
Have an article accepted during the time period of the agreement (January 1, 2021 - December 31, 2024).
Be actively affiliated with Yale University or YNHH and list this as the primary affiliation on the manuscript.
Accept a CC-BY license.

PLOS has provided Manuscript Submission Instructions for authors.

Portland Press (publisher for the Biochemical Society)

Yale Library's Read and Publish Agreement waives article processing charges (APC) for Yale University researchers publishing in Portland Press's seven journals:

Biochemical Journal
Clinical Science
Neuronal Signaling
Bioscience Reports
Biochemical Society
Transactions Essays in Biochemistry
Emerging Topics in Life Sciences

Portland Press, Read & Publish:

Royal Society

Yale Library's Institutional Open Access Agreement with The Royal Society provides unlimited read access to Royal Society journals and waives article processing charges for Yale and YNHH affiliated authors who wish to publish open access.

The included journals are:

Fully open access:

Open Biology
Royal Society Open Science

Hybrid open access:

Biology Letters
Interface Focus
Journal of the Royal Society Interface
Notes and Records of the Royal Society
Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society A & B
Proceedings of the Royal Society A & B

To publish open access with no article processing charge, the Yale of YNHH author must:

Be the corresponding author, the person who handles the manuscript and correspondence during the publication process, including approving the article proofs.
Have a manuscript accepted for publication under the term of this agreement (January 1, 2023 to December 31, 2025 with the option to renew after that period).
Accept a Creative Commons CC-BY license.

Additional resources for authors who wish to publish open access in Royal Society hybrid journals can be found here: https://royalsocietypublishing.org/pb-assets/author-journey-hybrid-journals-1656495981.pdf and resources for fully open access journals are here: https://royalsocietypublishing.org/pb-assets/open-journals-author-journey-1659105883.pdf

APC Discounts

BioMed Central
Yale Library membership provides Yale authors with a 15% discount on article-processing charges.
Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory Press
Yale Library's membership reduces APC charges from $3,700 to $2,000 per article in the following CSH journals: Genes & Development, Genome Research, RNA, Learning & Memory. APCs are reduced from $2,250 to $1,215 in Molecular Case Studies. The standard article processing charge, applied to all articles to offset publishing costs, will be waived for open access articles.
MDPI
Yale University, YNNH, and Yale Cancer Center authors receive a 10% discount on article-processing charges and book processing charges. Authors must use their yale.edu email address to obtain the discount.
MDPI Open Access Journals: https://www.mdpi.com/about/journals
PNAS (Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences)
Corresponding authors from institutions with current-year site licenses will be assessed a discounted article processing charge of $4,975 (compared to the regular fee of $5,475) for immediate open access publication under either a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives (CC BY-NC-ND) or Attribution (CC BY) license.
Science Advances from the American Association for the Advancement of Sciences (AAAS)
Yale Library's membership provides Yale authors with a 15% discount on article processing fees.
Please contact the publisher for details regarding the discount and article submission: scienceadvancesstaff@aaas.org.
SpringerOpen
Yale Library's membership provides Yale authors with a 15% discount on article-processing charges.
A current spreadsheet of charges can be found here: SpringerOpen Journal List

Support for Open Access Initiatives

Yale University Library supports the following Open Access initiatives through membership fees:

ArXiv
Through funding from YUL, Yale is an institutional supporting member of this repository, which offers open access to e-prints in physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics.
Biodiversity Heritage Library (BHL)
A consortium of natural history and botanical libraries that cooperate to digitize the legacy literature of biodiversity held in their collections and to make that literature available for open access and responsible use as a part of a global “biodiversity commons.” BHL contains material that has been scanned from collections at the Yale Peabody Museum of Natural History and the Yale Cushing/Whitney Medical Historical Library.
BioLine International
A not-for-profit scholarly publishing cooperative committed to providing open access to peer-reviewed research journals published in developing countries (currently Bangladesh, Brazil, Chile, China, Colombia, Egypt, Ghana, India, Iran, Kenya, Malaysia, Nigeria, Tanzania, Turkey, Uganda and Venezuela).
DataHaven
A nonprofit organization that collects, interprets, and shares data about the Greater New Haven area and Connecticut. The organization works with local and national partners to develop reports, tools, and technical assistance programs to make this data more useful for local communities.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
An online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
Knowledge Unlatched
The Knowledge Unlatched model depends on many libraries from around the world sharing the payment of a single Title Fee to a publisher, in return for a book being made available on a Creative Commons licence via OAPEN and HathiTrust as a fully downloadable PDF. YUL has pledged support to Knowledge Unlatched Round 2, KU Select 2016, and KU Select 2017.
Mathematical Sciences Publishers (MSP) - Subscribe to Open
Through the support of academic subscribers, MSP was able to convert 5 established journals to fully open access. These are: Geometry & Topology, Algebraic & Geometric Topology, Algebra & Number Theory, Analysis & PDE, and Pacific Journal of Mathematics. This model is funded through community support and does not require authors to pay article processing charges (APCs) to publish.
medRxiv
Founded by Yale University, Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, and BMJ is a free online archive and distribution server for complete but unpublished manuscripts (preprints) in the medical, clinical, and related health sciences. medRxiv aims to improve the openness and accessibility of scientific findings, enhance collaboration among researchers, document provenance of ideas, and inform ongoing and planned research through more timely reporting of completed research.
MIT Press - Direct to Open (D2O)
Direct to Open is a collective action model which relies on library and grant funding to support the open access publication of MIT Press’s scholarly monograph frontlists. The program will also provide all authors, regardless of funding, the opportunity to publish open access.
Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD)
An international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination, and preservation of electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs). It supports open access to scholarship.
Open Book Publishers
OBP includes academic books in the humanities, social sciences, arts, and law, with open access editions that can be downloaded, reused, or embedded anywhere. OBP is creating interactive books and works that incorporate moving images, links, and sound. More traditional titles are equipped with digital resources, including extra chapters, reviews, links, and image galleries.
OpenEdition
a French program for the development of open access academic publishing in the humanities and social sciences. Its open access content – journals, books, research blogs and academic announcements – is available to all users in HTML format. YUL supports OpenEdition Freemium for Journals, which allows users at Yale University to download PDF and ePub formats of the Freemium journal content.
Open Library of Humanities (OLH)
Open Library of Humanities supports academic journals from across the humanities disciplines, as well as hosting its own multidisciplinary journal. The OLH is funded by library partners, including YUL, and has no author-facing charges.
PhilPapers
A comprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers. It hosts the largest open access archive in philosophy.
Reveal Digital
Reveal Digital uses a library crowd-funding model to fund the development of digital collections. YUL has contributed to specific collections and to Reveal Digital's investment fund.
SCOAP3 - Sponsoring Consortium for Open Access Publishing in Particle Physics
A partnership of thousands of libraries, funding agencies, and research centers in more than 40 countries. Working with leading publishers, SCOAP3 has converted key journals in the field of high-energy physics to open access at no cost for authors.
South Asia Open Archives
A collective of nearly 25 libraries from the US and across the Subcontinent is dedicated to creating a freely accessible, curated collection of historical research materials on South Asia.
SPARC
SPARC (the Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition) is an advocacy organization, an international alliance of nearly 800 academic and research libraries working to create a more open system of scholarly communication.
TRAIL
The Technical Report Archive & Image Library (TRAIL) identifies, acquires, catalogs, digitizes and provides unrestricted access to U.S. government agency technical reports. TRAIL currently consists of over four dozen member institutions. whose annual membership fees and volunteered staff time further the efforts of the project.
University of Michigan Press - Fund to Mission Open Access Monographs
Beginning in 2022, and with the support of libraries, the press, and other funding sources, the University of Michigan Press is transitioning to an open monograph model which will allow authors to publish open access without fees.

Open Access: Open Access Publishing Support

Publishing Supports and Open Access

APC Waivers

APC Discounts

Support for Open Access Initiatives

Contact and Support

Site Navigation

Yale's Libraries