Yale University Library Research Guides: Public Policy Subject Guide: Books, Dissertations, Articles & Databases

Catalogs for books (and journals, government documents, films, archival collections, and more)

Quicksearch
Provides a combined search of Books+ (Orbis and MORRIS) and Articles+ (journal articles, e-books, dissertations, and more).
Orbis (Yale Library Catalog)
MORRIS (Yale Law Library Catalog)
Borrow Direct
Use Borrow Direct to simultaneously search the catalogs of other Ivy League/peer institutions.
WorldCat
Includes 1.5 billion records of books and other materials held in thousands of academic, public, special and national libraries around the world. Use WorldCat to identify materials not held by the Yale University Library. If the item you need is not available at Yale or through Borrow Direct, make an Interlibrary Loan request.

Find dissertations

Dissertations and Theses Global
Find dissertation and thesis citations from around the world from 1861 to present. Full text is available for most of the dissertations added since 1997. Dissertations not online and not held by Yale or Borrow Direct libraries can be borrowed through Interlibrary Loan.

DART-Europe E-theses Portal
Access to more than 400,000 full-text research theses from more than 500 universities in 27 European countries.

Recommended databases for public policy research

PAIS International Covers journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more related to "the realm of public policy."
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) Provides access to scholarly research in international affairs published from 1991 to present. Includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, journal articles, book chapters, case studies, and policy briefs.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts Indexes major journals in political science that cover such topics as political institutions, processes, and behavior; international law and politics; public policy; public administration; political theory; and political economics.
International Political Science Abstracts Indexes the world's leading journals in political science.
EconLit EconLit, produced by the American Economic Association, contains bibliographic coverage of journal articles, books, articles in collective volumes, dissertations, and working papers, covering both economic theory and application.
Hein Online Contains many "libraries" of legal materials, including law journals, treaties, U.S. government information, and more.
Social Science Research Network Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research and is composed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences.

Selected public policy journals

This list isn't comprehensive, but it includes many of the major journals in public policy and policy studies. You'll notice that some of the journals are interdisciplinary (e.g., law and public policy) or broader in scope (e.g., political science).

Public Policy Subject Guide: Books, Dissertations, Articles & Databases

Catalogs for books (and journals, government documents, films, archival collections, and more)

Find dissertations

Recommended databases for public policy research

Selected public policy journals

General databases

Site Navigation

Yale's Libraries