It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
- Top Resources
- Finding Articles
- Using Articles+ to Find Articles, Books/Chapters, Dissertations, and More
- Finding Books
- Exploring Subject Headings
- Some Places to Start Your Search
- Special Collections
- Medical Library Online Exhibit
- Yale Collections of Note
- Special Collections Beyond Yale
- Subscribed Online Content
- Government Documents
- US Federal Government Info
- Quick Tutorials
- ProQuest Congressional
- Government Info on Google
- Citation Tools (redirect URL)
- Library Workshops
Articles+ is our main portal for online articles, newspapers, magazines, eBook chapters, dissertations, and more. It covers about 80% of our eresources (the other databases are very specialized!), and it's a great place to search for interdisciplinary topics — including sign languages and Deaf communities.
Includes bibliographic references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951. It has a broad coverage of international material and incorporates many languages and countries. Includes content from the print indexes: International bibliography of economics, International bibliography of political science, International bibliography of anthropology (earlier called International bibliography of social and cultural anthropology), and International bibliography of sociology. Try a search for "Deaf community" (using quotation marks) or head to the advanced search to look for Deafness as a subject term. Add other terms to another box based on what you want to search for. Example search: su(Deafness) AND interpreters — this will look for anything about Deafness as a subject in which the word "interpreters" is found anywhere in the item record.
LLBA contains information about publications in Linguistics and related fields from 1973 – Present. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, and dissertations.
International literature of sociology, social work, and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Try a search for "Deaf Community" (using quotation marks so we are searching for the phrase) to see what comes up about Deaf communities around the world.
Please email me or use the Schedule Appointment button. In-person and virtual (Zoom) appointments are both possible. Please note that Science Hill is a 15-minute walk from central campus, and there is a temporary entrance due to construction.
My default ONSITE days are Tuesday, Wednesday, and Friday. During the semester (not during breaks!), I am onsite on Thursdays. I am OFFSITE most Mondays.
Marx Science and Social Science Library (formerly called CSSSI)
219 Prospect Street
Kline Biology Tower