Yale University Library Research Guides: Streaming Video Collections: Arts & Humanities Video Collections

Arts & Humanities Streaming Video Collections

Art and Architecture in Video
Collection of documentaries and interviews that illustrate the theory and practice of art forms, with context for critical analysis. The collection includes coverage of art history, art theory, architecture, and graphic design during the Renaissance, Neoclassicism, Romanticism, Modern, and Contemporary art periods.
Ductus. v 2.0 handwriting and bookmaking in the Middle Ages
Handwriting and bookmaking in the Middle Ages offers analyses of manuscript facsimiles from the Middle Ages. It includes glossaries, bibliographies, articles, manuscript images, instructional videos, and courses in paleography and codicology.
EAI Educational Streaming Site / Electronic Arts Intermix.
Full-length streaming videos for a select list of artists spanning from the mid-1960s to the present.
Access: films in this collection are not discoverable in the library catalog due to the fact that they do not have unique stable URLs. Users must search the EAI platform to find films.
OnArchitecture: a selection of original content featuring the best architecture in the world
Online audiovisual service providing a panorama of the world's main authors, works, experiences and problematics related to the field of architecture. The collection features original videos, which include interviews, buildings and installations, enriched with a selection of complementary material about the main authors and figures of contemporary architecture.

Asian Film Online
Selection of over 1000 feature films, documentaries, and shorts from across Asia. Themes cover include modernity, globalization, female agency, social and political unrest, and cultural and sexual identity.
EAI Educational Streaming Site / Electronic Arts Intermix.
Full-length streaming videos for a select list of artists spanning from the mid-1960s to the present.
Access: films in this collection are not discoverable in the library catalog due to the fact that they do not have unique stable URLs. Users must search the EAI platform to find films.
LGBT Studies in Video
A cinematic survey of the lives of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people as well as the cultural and political evolution of the LGBT community. It features documentaries, interviews, archival footage, and select feature films exploring LGBT history, gay culture and subcultures, civil rights, marriage equality, LGBT families, AIDS, transgender issues, religious perspectives on homosexuality, global comparative experiences, and other topics.
Naxos Video Library
The NVL contains more than 1290 full-length videos from 28 different publishing houses. The content includes classical music in large part (opera, ballet, theatre, jazz, concerts, competitions, documentaries, master classes, and lectures) but also includes feature films about religious figures and topics like geography, world monuments, and fine arts.
New World Cinema: Independent Features and Shorts, 1990-present
The database includes over 200 full-length feature films from leading independent distributors such as Kino Lorber, First Run Features, Film Movement, and Global Lens. There are also some 50 award winning short films. All films were presented at major film festivals, many were nominated for awards, and many have won major awards.
Silent Film Online
Brings together films which represent the basis of modern cinematic technique and film theory. This database covers silent features, serials, and shorts from the 1890s to the 1930s and includes examples of the silent film movement from Germany, Britain, the Soviet Union, and France. The resource complements its feature films with a selection of related documentaries.
Socialism on Film: the Cold War and International Propaganda
Collection of documentary, newsreel and feature films produced primarily in the communist world and re-edited for western audiences. includes works by Soviet, Chinese, Vietnamese, East European, and Latin American filmmakers. Ranging from the early 20th century to the 1980s, the material encapsulates the themes of war, revolution, news, current affairs, culture and society.

Black Studies Center
Black studies center provides resources for research and teaching in Black studies including Schomburg studies on the Black experience which contains streaming videos.
Ductus. v 2.0 handwriting and bookmaking in the Middle Ages
Handwriting and bookmaking in the Middle Ages offers analyses of manuscript facsimiles from the Middle Ages. It includes glossaries, bibliographies, articles, manuscript images, instructional videos, and courses in paleography and codicology.
First World War Database
Includes a variety of primary source material from WWI including film clips. Contains three large modules: Visual Perspectives and Narratives, Personal Experiences, Propaganda and Recruitment.
Gale World Scholar: Latin America & Caribbean
Provides full text, searchable access to a digital collection of primary (and secondary) source documents about Latin America and the Caribbean. The scope ranges from the colonial period to the present and includes monographs, manuscripts, pamphlets, letters, expedition records, journals, periodicals, reports, maps, diaries, descriptions of voyages, newspaper accounts, news feeds, audio and video, and more.
HistoryMakers
An oral history video archive dedicated to preserving African American history as the missing link in American history. Focused on American history, oral history and education in general and more specifically on African American history, education, music, law, the arts, science, technology, media, medicine, entertainment, fashion&beauty, business, the military, politics and sports, The History Makers is a combination archive, library, museum, stock footage collection, on-line educator and educational PBS/TV programming. Its topics include but are not limited to African American organizations and associations, slavery, reconstruction, the labor movement, the civil rights movement and black authors.
Leisure, Travel & Mass Culture: the History of Tourism
Provides a look at the evolution of European and American working class tourism from 1850 to 1980. It contains brochures, guidebooks, photo albums, and tourist ephemera supplemented by printed books, travel agency records, handwritten journals, leaflets, promotional films, and government correspondence sourced from various archives and collections in the United Kingdom and the United States. **Limit to films under "Document Type".
Popular culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975 : rock and roll, counterculture, peace and protest
Contains digitizations of popular culture collections from the U.S. and U.K. between 1950 to 1975. These original archival materials are from various libraries and archives. Topics include student protests, civil rights, consumerism, and the Vietnam War. The collection includes pamphlets, letters, government files, eye witness accounts, underground magazines, visual and video materials and ephemera and memorabilia.
Socialism on Film: the Cold War and International Propaganda
Collection of documentary, newsreel and feature films produced primarily in the communist world and re-edited for western audiences. includes works by Soviet, Chinese, Vietnamese, East European, and Latin American filmmakers. Ranging from the early 20th century to the 1980s, the material encapsulates the themes of war, revolution, news, current affairs, culture and society.
Television News Archive
Collection that spans the presidential administrations of Lyndon Baines Johnson, Richard Nixon, Gerald Ford, Jimmy Carter, Ronald Reagan, George H.W. Bush, Bill Clinton, George W. Bush and Barack Obama. The core collection includes evening news from ABC, CBS, and NBC (since 1968), an hour per day of CNN (since 1995) and Fox News (since 2004)

Poets on Screen - Literature Online (LION)
The leading online resource for the study of literature in English. Part of the Literature Online (LION) database. Nearly 900 video clips of poets reading their own and other poets’ works. The collection is accessible at the bottom of the LION homepage.

Berliner Philharmoniker Digital Concert Hall
Provides access to the Berliner Philharmoniker's live performances and rebroadcasts as well as music-related documentaries and interviews.
Dance Online. Dance in Video
Includes streaming video files related to 20th century dance, including documentaries, editorials, instructional, interviews, and performances. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance. Videos can be browsed by people, role, ensemble, genre, and venue.
Digital Theatre Plus
Provides online access to a digital streaming video collection of films of current British theatre productions. Includes behind-the-scenes documentaries as well as teaching and learning resources to facilitate understanding of the productions and texts. Learning resources include a detailed introduction, plot summary, character biographies, a relationship map, language analysis, scene study, performance background and historical context for each play.
Drama Online
Drama Online includes full text of plays ranging from Aeschylus to the present day. It includes non-English language works in English translations, scholarly and critical editions, first night program texts, critical analysis, and contextual information. L.A. Theatre works. Additional media within Drama Online includes L.A. Theatre Works audio plays and streaming video of National Theatre productions, Hollow Crown, and Shakespeare's Globe on Screen.
medici.tv
Collection of classical music, operas, and ballets. The collection includes live broadcasts, archived performances of concerts, operas, ballets, artist profiles, documentaries, and educational programs.
Met Opera On Demand. Student access
Met opera on demand provides access to full length Met performances. It features live HD productions, classic telecasts from the 1970s, '80s, '90s, and '00s, and radio broadcasts dating back to 1936.
Music Online: Opera in Video
Contains five hundred hours of the most important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries. Opera in video 2008-
Naxos Video Library
The NVL contains more than 1290 full-length videos from 28 different publishing houses. The content includes classical music in large part (opera, ballet, theatre, jazz, concerts, competitions, documentaries, master classes, and lectures) but also includes feature films about religious figures and topics like geography, world monuments, and fine arts. Films appear under the "Genres and Programmes" catagory.
OntheBoards.tv
A website that offers high-quality videos of full-length performances by some of today's most provocative artists working in dance, theater, music and other forms that defy categorization.
Organ Cinema
A series of documentary and recital films pertaining to the history and repertoire of the organ. By Fugue State Films in association with the Royal College of Organists. Many more films will be made and added. Ultimately there will be a set of films about each important historical or geographical school of organ music.
Qwest TV
Streaming video channel dedicated to jazz, soul, funk, and world music. The catalog features concerts, award-winning documentaries, rare archival footage, and exclusive content. Each video is accompanied by notes written by journalists and music experts. There are also exclusive playlists personally curated by legends such as Chick Corea, Michael League, Quincy Jones, Ed Motta, and many more.
Theatre in Video
Contains performances of the world's leading plays and film documentaries on the subject of theater in streaming video. Some plays presented in multiple productions exemplifying various interpretations of the text, and technical and cultural differences among the presentations.

Multi-Subject Streaming Video Collections

Academic Video Online (Alexander Street)
Provides access to thousands of video titles on the arts, humanities, science, and social sciences. The formats include documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, raw footage, and award-winning films, all with accompanying transcripts. Collection highlights include: BBC, PBS, Sony Pictures Classics, Filmakers Library.
Digital Campus (Swank)
Includes films from major Hollywood studios as well as international features. Our subscription provides access to the top 1,000 most-requested videos on the platform. New titles are licensed for course reserves upon request by faculty via Canvas. Our subscription permits only individual research and classroom use. Public performances of any kind are not allowed.
Digitalia Film Library
An international collection of primarily Spanish and Portuguese language streaming feature films, television series, and documentaries in the original language, some available dubbed into English or with English subtitles.
Docuseek3
Provides streaming access to documentary and social issue films and videos from a variety of distributors, including Bullfrog, First Run Features, Icarus Films, National Film Board of Canada, and Women Make Movies.
Films on Demand (published by Infobase)
Provides access to over 45,000 full-length films and clips, covering numerous subject areas, including Anthropology, Archival Films & Newsreels, Area Studies, Art & Architecture, Biology, Business & Economics, Communication, Counseling & Social Work, Criminal Justice & Law, Earth Science, Education, Engineering, English, Environmental Science, Geography, Health & Medicine, History, Mathematics, Music & Dance, Philosophy & Religion, Physical Science, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, Technology & Society, World Cinema, and World Languages.
Kanopy
Streaming video service offering international narrative films and documentaries across diverse subjects and disciplines. Includes 590 films from the Criterion Collection. Films are licensed individually by request for a one-year period, for academic use only. NOTE TO FACULTY: If you are including a Kanopy title in your course, please submit a Course Reserve request via Canvas. Kanopy titles are licensed for one year, but the expiration date does not appear on the record; thus a film you access today may expire tomorrow. The only way to ensure that the film will be available for the duration of your course is to submit the Course Reserve form. https://guides.library.yale.edu/reserves/canvas
Contact michael.kerbel@yale.edu with any questions.

Kanopy Features:

Enabling Closed Captions, Subtitles, and Transcripts
Creating Clips and Playlists
A clip is a shortened excerpt, or cut, of a video.
A playlist is a set of various clips or films that are curated and collated together into a single URL with the intention of being viewed together.

Streaming Video Collections: Arts & Humanities Video Collections

Off-Campus Access

Arts & Humanities Streaming Video Collections

Multi-Subject Streaming Video Collections

Site Navigation

Yale's Libraries