It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Includes printed ephemera and publications documenting the development of lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer communities in their own voices. Includes mass circulation and small press publications.
Features historical records of political and social organizations founded by LGBTQ individuals, as well as publications by and for lesbians and gays, and coverage of governmental responses to the AIDS crisis. The archive also contains personal correspondence and interviews with numerous LGBTQ individuals.
Sample collections within Archives of Sexuality and Gender:
Subject files include personal papers, correspondence, news clippings, photographs, and other media. Festivals, gay pride marches, conferences, music and comedy shows, theater, and other events were documented by ALFA. Records also trace ALFA's sponsorship of out lesbian softball teams in the local Atlanta leagues. Advertisements and listings of women-only and gay and lesbian resorts, bookstores, and other destinations can be found here as well.
The collection is comprised of six parts, all containing material relating to transgendered individuals as well as the practice of cross–dressing and the cross–dressing community. The largest subset includes periodicals discussing transgender issues and cross–dressing, as well as related clippings from popular magazines such as Esquire and Good Housekeeping. The remaining parts of the collection include conference and workshop materials; photographs and articles from AEGIS; materials associated with shopping for items related to cross–dressing; medical information pertaining to sexual reassignment, electrolysis, and breast augmentation; and Denny's extensive index of books on transgender issues.
Features documentaries, interviews, archival footage, and select feature films exploring LGBT history, gay culture and subcultures, civil rights, marriage equality, LGBT families, AIDS, transgender issues, religious perspectives on homosexuality, global comparative experiences, and other topics.
Includes documents ranging from letters, speeches, interviews, and ephemera covering the political evolution of gay rights as well as memoirs, biographies, poetry, letters and works of fiction that illuminate the lives of lesbians, gays, transgendered, and bisexual individuals and the community.