SlaveryCivil RightsAbout IndividualsSocietal TensionsIdentity
Fine PressArtists' BooksBooks By or About ArchitectsBookplates
Shakespeare
The Book as MemorialFirst Person AccountsAbstracted/MetaphoricalOther Media
JazzComposersSound
This is the "Book Arts Guide" page of the "Book Arts" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Guides Home

Book Arts   Tags: arts, book history, special collections, visual arts  

Subject-specific lists of book arts materials available in Special Collections at the Robert B. Haas Family Arts Library
Last Updated: Apr 7, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.yale.edu/bookarts Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Book Arts Guide Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

ALSC Access Policies

Monday through Friday

10am to 12pm and 1pm to 4pm.

Reduced hours during recess periods; closed for University holidays.

Each reader must register every academic and summer term and follow all policies and procedures for use of the Special Collections Reading Room.

On site materials can be viewed the same day.  Orbis location code is: Haas Arts Special Collections (Non-Circulating)

Off site materials require at least 2 business days notice.  Orbis location code is LSF. Contact haasalsc@yale.edu to Request Item.

 

Welcome

The Robert B. Haas Family Arts Library Special Collections are composed of materials from the former Art+Architecture and Drama Libraries as well as the Arts of the Book Collection. These previously separate special collections are now united in the Special Collections Reading Room. Rare and unique, modern and contemporary, published and manuscript materials are gathered together to create a resource that includes both research materials about and examples of the arts.

This guide brings together multiple lists of book arts materials arranged by theme or subject.  Beautifully-made, cutting edge, unusually-shaped, and other interesting books created as works of art themselves also contain useful information.  Each book expresses the views of its maker(s) not only in the meaning of the words, but in what is communicated by the form of the object.  Unexpected structures and materials, imagery, typography and other creative means allows artists to express their views. 

The lists in this guide, one subject per tab, allow readers to see just a few of the topics addressed by artists in bookworks available in Special Collections at the Robert B. Haas Family Arts Library.

Asst. Director for Special Collections, Arts Library

Profile Image
Jae Jennifer Rossman
Contact Info
Arts Library Special Collections, The Robert B. Haas Family Arts Library, 180 York Street.
203.432.1712
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip