Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Yale Library COVID-19 updates.

Book Arts: African American

Subject-specific lists of book arts materials available in Special Collections at the Robert B. Haas Family Arts Library

African American artists who have worked in the book format

These artists participated in the exhibition We, Too, Are Book Artists (2007) at the Minnesota Center for Book Arts.

Ben Blount

John Crombie

Kevin Jerome Everson

Ellen Gallagher

Trenton Doyle Hancock

Suzanne Jackson

Philip Mallory Jones

Amos Paul Kennedy

Bert L. Long

Dindga McCannon

Clarence Morgan

Rosae M. Reeder

Sandra Oei

Shimoda

Clarissa Sligh

Danny Tisdale

Kara Walker

Bisa Washington

Cecile Webster

Carrie Mae Weems

Harriette Washington Williams

 

 

 

Artists' Books Available in ALSC

In Spring 2011, Arts Library Special Collections presented the exhibition "Embodied at the Library:  Special Collections Related to the Exhibition Embodied: Black Identities in American Art from the Yale University Art Gallery."  This guide contains citations for artists' books held by Arts Library Special Collections which touch on a wide range of themes and issues related to the Embodied exhibition, such as:

Embodied was a student-curated exhibition at the Yale University Art Gallery (YUAG) which sought to explore the complicated issue of identity as expressed through visual art, with a focus on how ideas of identity have “mapped meanings onto African American bodies throughout history.”  Drawing from the collections at the YUAG, students selected artworks in a range of media to “prompt the viewer and reader to question the category of ‘African American art.’”   

The Robert B. Haas Family Arts Library supports teaching and research in the Arts at Yale, and is the library of record for the Yale University Art Gallery.  One would expect the library to contain reference works about the artists included in the Embodied exhibition, and certainly it does.  However, in addition to these more traditional resources, the Special Collections of the Haas Family Arts Library contain works of art related to the premise of the exhibition.  The library exhibition included works of art in book format by some of the artists in Embodied and works created by book artists related to the issues explored in the Yale University Art Gallery exhibition.

Associate Director for Special Collections

Profile Photo
Mar Gonzalez Palacios
Contact:
Robert B. Haas Family Arts Library
190 York Street | P.O. Box 208318
New Haven, CT 06520-8318
(203) 432-4439