Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Book Arts: Book Arts Guide

Subject-specific lists of book arts materials available in Special Collections at the Robert B. Haas Family Arts Library

Welcome

Welcome to the Book Arts subject guide. In this guide, you'll find: 

  • Examples of book arts materials arranged by select themes or subjects.
  • Information about how to access these materials at the Haas Arts Library.
  • Contact information for one of the book arts subject specialist on campus. 

 

Robert B. Haas Arts Library

reading room at Arts Library

Yale's Arts Library, linking Rudolph Hall and the Loria Center at 180 and 190 York Street, serves as the primary collection for the study of art, architecture, and drama at Yale. The Arts Library contains approximately 150,000 onsite volumes including important reference works, monographs, exhibition catalogs, and print periodicals, as well as digital resources, including online periodicals, article indexes, and databases. Arts Library Special Collections features artists' books and volumes on the book arts, fine printing, typography, and illustration, as well as archival materials and thesis projects from the Schools of Art, Architecture, and Drama. An additional 300,000+ volumes are stored in the offsite Library Shelving Facility for quick delivery to any Yale Library via Eli Express.

Today's Arts Library Hours

Access in Brief

During the fall semester 2020, we will be open Monday-Friday from 1pm-4pm by appointment only starting August 31st to current Yale affiliates authorized to be on campus.

To access ALSC materials you will need to:

  • Make a reservation at least 24 hours in advance (requires CAS login)
  • Register online prior to your first visit
  • Request collection materials at least 1 business day (2 business days for material at LSF) before your scheduled visit

Please refer to Visiting ALSC for more details, including policies and procedures for use of the Arts Library Special Collections Reading Room.

Associate Director for Special Collections

Mar Gonzalez Palacios's picture
Mar Gonzalez Palacios
Contact:
Robert B. Haas Family Arts Library
190 York Street | P.O. Box 208318
New Haven, CT 06520-8318
(203) 432-4439