Quick Links
Orbis - library catalog
Find Articles (multiple databases)
Online Databases (sciences)
Center for Science and Social Science Information
Selected New Book Additions in Ecology and Evolutionary Biology (click on cover)
Databases, Indexes, Bibliographies, or Other Reference Material
Ainsworth & Bisby's Dictionary of the Fungi by DL Hawksworth, PM Kirk, BC Sutton, and DN Pegler. A well-known reference work on fungi, now in its 10th edition (c2008) and first published in 1943, providing definitions or explanations for terms and generic names of interest to mycologists. Coverage is of fungi, lichens, mushrooms, slime moulds, water moulds, and yeasts. Most entries include literature references. This edition contains a key to fungal families. A tribute to Ainsworth and his 60-year career appeared in Mycologia 91(4):714-719 July-August 1999. CSSSI Reference QK600.35 A35 2008 (LC)
BIOSIS - Ecology, botany, zoology and other life science fields of research are indexed in this resource covering several thousand journals published around the world. E-mail alerts can be set up for new entries matching unique search criteria.
Bradley Bibliography: a guide to the literature of the woody plants of the world published before the beginning of the Twentieth Century by alfred Rehder (Publications of the Arnold Arboretum, no. 3). This is a 5-volume set consisting of references to literature (books, pamphlets, articles) on woody plants, from anyh language through 1900. Entries are arranged by volumes 1 and 2: dendrology, 3: arboriculture, 4: forestry and volume 5 contains an author, title and keyword index. CSSSI Z5356 T7 R4 also LSF
CAB Abstracts - This database is produced by CAB International. References to publications from around the world in a wide range of topics of agriculture and applied biology can be found in this resource. Topics include: agricultural engineering, animal breeding, apiculture, biodeterioration, crop physiology, grasslands, horticulture, irrigation, maize, nematodes, nutrition, plant breeding, plant genetics, medical entomology, seeds, forestry, and soils.
Encyclopedia of Evolution - Oxford University Press, Print 2002, Online 2012. 370 entries, great reviews.
Encyclopedia of Life Sciences - Multi-volumet set, see section Evolution & Diversity of Life
Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management - A multidisciplinary database with abstracts coming from 6000 journals. A set of databases including: Water Resources Abstracts (1967-), EIS: Digest of Environmental Impact Statements (1985-), Environmental Engineering Absracts (1990-), Pollution Absracts (1981-), Toxicology Abstracts (1981-), Toxline (1999-).
Google Scholar - Search results complement BIOSIS Previews results. Use Yale Fulltext links and note "Cited by" numbers. If no Yale Fulltext link appears try a manual search in Orbis; not all Yale library online content is reflected by a Yale Fulltext icon in Google Scholar.
Medline - Official database for literature references in medical disciplines.
PubMed - Free database for medical literature references; includes Medline.
PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) - References to related policy or other social science and legislative aspects of science topics can be identified here (such as conservation policy, endangered species, wetlands, biodiversity).
Scopus - A multidisciplinary database with links to citing articles (1999-). Coverage begins in 1966.
Web of Science (Science Citation Index) - Use this database to identify articles across all fields of science from well-known journals and to determine which publications or authors have been cited.
Zoological Record - The database of record for citations to the world's journal literature in zoology and natural history. Online coverage includes all volumes. Topics covered include: animal behavior, biodiversity, conservation, ecology, genetics, habitats, morphology, nomenclature, parasitology, animal physiology, reproduction, taxonomy, zoogeography. 1864-
Selected Classic Books
Origin of Species by Means of Natural Selection by Charles Darwin, c1859. An influential and controversial science book, written by a legendary naturalist/evolutionist/geologist who was mostly unemployed for his entire life. Many editions and a concordance to this work have been published. Geology Qh375 O74 (LC)+ Oversize LSF, Medical HistoricalQh365 O2 1909 SMl stacks QH365 O2 1904B CSSSI QH365 O2 1936 Also online in PDF at Darwin Online http://darwin-online.org.uk.
Synopsis and Classification of Living Organisms by Sybil P. Parker, c1982. A classic reference work down to the family level of living organisms. LSF QH83 S89 1982+ Oversize
Five Kingdoms: an illustrated guide to the phyla of life on earth by Lynn Margulis, c1982. An emerging classic on classification. 3rd edition in 1998 and in 2009 this author published Kingdoms & Domains: an illustrated guide to the phyla of life on Earth*. CSSSI QH83 M36 1998 + Oversize *CSSSI QH83 M36 2009 (LC)
Animal Ecology by Charles S. Elton, c1927. Considered one of the first textbooks on the subject. For a time, Elton was an assistant to Julian Huxley (grandson of Thomas Huxley), studyig animal life while on an Oxford University expedition in 1921. An edition with new introductory material was published in 2001. CSSSI QL751 E4 2001 (LC)
Concepts of Ecology by Edward John Kormondy, c1969. An often-read book written by a biology educator, now retired, whose books began to appear in the 1960s and who later became a university chancellor. LSF QH541 K67 1976 1969 ed. at LSF and Geology QH541 K67 (LC)
Systema Naturae (1735) by Carolus Linnaeus. Linnaeus' key work, Systema Naturae is considered bysome to be the bible of natural history, covering animals, plants, and minerals. Its 10th edition no longer treated minerals. CSSSI facsimile of 1st volume of 10th ed. QL352 L75 1956 LSF/Manuscripts and Archives use QH43 S48 1766 (LC)
Plant Anatomy by Katherine Esau, c1953. This classic text is said to have had a worldwide impact on the field. A 2nd edition was published in 1965. Russian-born Esau came to the U.S. by way of Germany and subsequently worked, was educated, and taught as a professor in the U.S. LSF QK671 E83 1953 See also Esau's Plant Anatomy: meristems, cells, and tissues of the plant body: their structure, function, and development 3rd ed. CSSSI QK671 E94 2006 (LC) Oversize
Manual of the Botany of the Northern United States by Asa Gray, c1848. Useful for descriptions, occurrences, some drawings, or some notes on names, the Manual of Botany came out in 8 editions. Five editions of this work were published during Gray's life. LSF QK117 G8 1890 also 1889 and 1867 editions CSSSI QK117 G8 1869
Ecology by Robert E. Ricklefs, c1973. A well-used textbook. 3rd edition was published in 1990. Treats ecosystems, evolutionary ecology and social behavior, population biology and habitats. CSSSI QH541 R53X 1990 (LC)+ Oversize Also copies at LSF.
Animal Species and Evolution by Ernst Mayr, c1963. This 1963 book has been cited according to Thomson's Web of Science database in over 3400 different publications since its publication. The author's essay, commenting on his work having been designated a citation classic by Thomson , appears in Contemporary Classics in Plant, Animal, and Environmental Sciences, ISI Press, c1986. His 2001 What Evolution Is is said to be derived from a number of his earlier works and geared toward a more general audience. (see Science Jan 4, 2002) CSSSI QH408 M3 Geology QH408 M39 LSF Ornithology (non-circulating) QH408 M3
Origins of Life: from the birth of life to the origin of language by John Maynard Smith and Eors Szathmary, c1999. LSF QH366.2 M392 1999 multiple copies
Walker's Mammals of the World by Ernest P. Walker, c1975. A reference classic featuring accounts and a photo of most living genera of mammals. From common to rare, a comprehensive source. The 6th edition appeared in 1999. Most accounts feature a black-and-white species photo. A world distribution table by genus is also provided. CSSSI reference QL703 W3 1999
Related Guides and Departments
Forestry and Environmental Studies
Choosing a Journal for Publication of an Article
Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
Department of Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology
Department of Molecular Biophysics and Biochemistry
Department of Anthropology (includes program in Biological Anthropology)
Science Research Support Librarian - Life Sciences |
Links: Profile & Guides |
Contact Information
203 432 6213
Center for Science and Social Science Information
Kline Biology Tower
219 Prospect St.
New Haven, CT 06520-8111
non-CSSSI office hours:
Tuesdays 9-10 am OML 1st floor break room
by EEB Business Office
Fridays 9-10 am 362A JWG

Loading...
