Yale University Library Research Guides: Choosing a Journal for Publication of an Article: Home

General Research Tools

Cabell's Journalytics Medicine and Predatory Reports

The Yale Library's subscription is to Journalytics Medicine & Predatory Reports .

Predatory Reports- Features profiles of 16,000 open access and commercial journals.

Journalytics Medicine & Predatory Reports - Profiles of 7,000 journals across 37 medical disciplines.

Databases

Journal Citation Reports
-176 subject categories for science and 56 for social science
-Browse by subject category or search by known journal name
-Find journals with the highest impact factors
-Find ranking of journals in their subject category
-Includes open access journals
- Use Manuscript Matcher to find a suitable journal to publish in
Google Scholar
-Lists of 20 top publications for major disciplines; many subcategories in each discipline
-h5-index values
-Citations to top articles in each journal
-Click on Metrics in stacked lines at top left
-Includes Metrics for open access journals
Scopus
-Compare up to 10 journals from a search results list
-Source-Normalized Impact per Paper (SNIP)
-SCImago Journal Rank (SJR)
-Impact per Publication (IPP)
-Citations to journal and trends
-Number of documents on topic in journal
-% not cited
-% reviews
-On results page, click on Analyze Search Results. Click on Source. Next, click on Compare Journals and View SJR, IPP, and SNIP data
-Includes open access journals
CiteScore in Scopus
-Metrics on over 22,000 serial titles in 330 disciplines
-Use search at this link to find journal metrics in Scopus without doing a keyword search.
Journal Guide
-Enter keywords and click on Search.
-Gives time from submission to acceptance for some journal choices.
-For Journal Name searches gives some journal-provided acceptance rates
JANE
-Enter keywords
-Click on Find Journals
-Gives journal title suggestions with some article influence scores.
Eigenfactor
-Eigenfactor Score, a measure of the journal's importance to the scientific community.
-Article Influence, a measure of the average influence, per article, of the papers in a journal; like impact factor
-Search by journal name, journal subject category
-Science, social science, and medical journals included
-Older, mapping data available by field
-Includes open access journals
-From University of Washington
Ulrichsweb
-Use Advanced Search or ISSN for a title for more precise searching
-Frequency of publication
-Content type
-Abstracting and indexing titles compilations
-Demographics of audience
-Brief reviews
-Includes open access journals
WorldCat
-Union catalog for hundreds of libraries in the U.S. and other countries
-Search by title (journal name) and find numbers of libraries worldwide with holdings
Journal Reviewer
-Turnaround time and review length given for many journals
-772 journals are covered in the social sciences
-Crowd-sourced content
Publication Delays at PLOS and 3,475 Other Journals
-From the Satoshi Village blog of Daniel Himmelstein
-Covers science journals
SciRev
-Gives duration of 1st review and total handling time for submissions to science, social science, and humanities journals
-Covers 850 journals
-From Jeroen Smits and Janine Huisman.
Match in EndNote Online
-Sign up for a free (Yale) EndNote Online account and click on Match.
-Type in title of paper and abstract and click on Find Journals
- Based on Web of Science/Journal Citation Reports journals.
Comparing Impact Factor and Scopus CiteScore
This essay is written by Carl T. Bergstrom and Jevin West of Eigenfactor.
Journal Targeter (Jot)
A free online resource based on journals indexed by Medline. For biomedicine and medicinal botany manuscripts. Developed in consultation with Jane and Yale colleagues. Suggests journals based on title, abstract, references.

Publisher-Specific Resources

Springer
Use this resource to identify possible journals published by Springer.
Wiley
Try this resource if you'd like to identify possible journals published by Wiley.
Elsevier
This resource aids in helping to identify journals published by Elsevier.

Librarian for Life Sciences

Kayleigh Bohemier

Email Me

Contact:

Please email me or use the Schedule Appointment button. In-person and virtual (Zoom) appointments are both possible. Please note that Science Hill is a 15-minute walk from central campus, and there is a temporary entrance due to construction.

My default ONSITE days are Tuesday, Wednesday, and Friday. During the semester (not during breaks!), I am onsite on Thursdays. I am OFFSITE most Mondays.

———

Marx Science and Social Science Library (formerly called CSSSI)
Office C41
219 Prospect Street
Concourse Level
Kline Biology Tower

203-432-9519

Subjects: Astronomy and Astrophysics, Earth & Planetary Sciences, Physics and Astronomy

Choosing a Journal for Publication of an Article: Home

General Research Tools

Cabell's Journalytics Medicine and Predatory Reports

Databases

Publisher-Specific Resources

Librarian for Life Sciences

Site Navigation

Yale's Libraries