Yale University Library Research Guides: Dead Sea Scrolls: Reference Works

Dead Sea Scrolls

Encyclopedia of the Dead Sea Scrolls (Online) by Lawrence H. Schiffman (Editor); James C. VanderKam (Editor) A comprehensive reference work on what we know about the Dead Sea Scrolls--their history, relevance, meaning, and the controversies that surround them.
The Dead Sea Scrolls in Scholarly Perspective: A History of Its Research by Devorah Dimant (Editor); Ingo Kottsieper The volume consists of 27 surveys of research into the Dead Sea Scrolls in the past 60 years, written by 26 authors. An innovation of the volume is that it covers Qumran scholarship in separate countries: the USA, Canada, Israel, France, Germany, Spain, the Netherlands, Scandinavia, Italy and the Eastern bloc. Each essay also carries a detailed bibliography for the respective country.
The Oxford Handbook of the Dead Sea Scrolls (Online) by Timothy H. Lim (Editor); John J. Collins Shows the diverse opinions and viewpoints, highlight the points of disagreement, and point to promising directions for future research on the Dead Sea Scrolls.
The Dead Sea Scrolls Concordance by Martin G. Abegg; James E. Bowley; Edward M. Cook; Emanuel Tov A keyword-in-context concordance. Every entry includes the keyword with its context with notes on some readings. All keywords have an English translation, and they are listed in alphabetical order rather than by verbal root, which makes the concordance easier to consult for the non-specialist.

The Eerdmans Dictionary of Early Judaism by John J. Collins (Editor); Daniel C. Harlow (Editor) A reference work devoted exclusively to Second Temple Judaism (fourth century b.c.e. through second century c.e.).
Call Number: BM176.E34X 2010 (Trowbridge Reference Room)
T&T Clark Encyclopedia of Second Temple Judaism Volume One (Online) by Loren T. Stuckenbruck (Editor); Daniel M. Gurtner (Editor) Provides a comprehensive reference resource of over 600 scholarly articles aimed at scholars and students interested in Judaism of the Second Temple Period. Divided into two volumes.
T&T Clark Encyclopedia of Second Temple Judaism Volume Two (Online) by Loren T. Stuckenbruck (Editor); Daniel M. Gurtner (Editor) This volume presents an overview of respective contexts of the discipline set within the broad framework of historical chronology corresponding to a set of full-color, custom-designed maps.