It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library building hours and access are limited at this time. Services and support are being provided remotely. See COVID-19 library updates.
South Asia: Himalayan Studies: Collection Highlights
This Guide contains information about Himalayan Studies (including Bhutan,
China, India, Nepal, and Pakistan, and the Tibetan cultural areas that traverse the
borders of all those states), in the Humanities and Social Sciences.
This is a canned search of all items in the Beinecke that contain the phrase "East India Company." Over the years, material dealing with the East India Company has found its way into many different Beinecke collections. Over 400 items.
Includes approximately 240 manuscripts, some dating back to the 1600s. Some come from the India Office. Also contains multiple editions of the Mahabharata, from 18th century (1), 18th century (2), 1795, and 1850.
Heavily illustrated and hand painted book. Full title: "Seventy two specimens of castes in India : "All people, nations and languages shall serve Him. ... presented to the Revd. William Twining as a token of obligation by his ... friend Daniel Poor ..." Manuscript title, occupying two leaves, "written by T. Vardapillay, writing master in the two English schools established by the American missionaries in Madura City".
Overview of the Tibetan Collection
We also have a very unique collection of Tibetan and other Himalayan material. To browse through the collection, search in Orbis for the following Local Call Numbers:
Tanka (Thangka) collection: 77 thangkas, circa 1600-circa 1950. All thangkas have been carefully photographed, front and back, and the images are available online.
"Newari" collection: Not in Orbis. Includes 150 manuscripts in Newari, Nepali, and Sanskrit. Most are from Nepal or northern India. Includes some palm leaf manuscripts.
Tibet Bernard: A very large collection (approx. 395 volumes) that includes the Rin chen gter mdzod, collected by Theos Bernard in 1937.
Tibet Kanjur: A 1949 copy of the Lhasa Kanjur in excellent condition.
Tibet MSS: About 65 original Tibetan manuscripts from the 18th and 19th centuries.
The Tibet Mirror (Yul phyogs so so'i gsar 'gyur me long), one of the most significant early Tibetan language newspapers, began in October 1925 in Kalimpong, India. It chronicled dramatic social and political transformations in Tibet, India, and in the broader region.
About Theos Bernard
Want to learn more abut Theos Bernard? Read through these books and articles:
The Theos Bernard papers, 1884-1998 (bulk 1935-1947), document Bernard's interest in yoga and Tibetan tantric philosophy. Contains photographs, personal and professional correspondence, writings, lectures and interviews, research materials, notes, newspaper clippings, and family materials. **NOTE: The content of the papers is not digitized, and must be used in person.