Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Getting Started with Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS): Data Available at Yale

What is available?

The School of Management and Yale University Library subscribe to several datasets on the WRDS platform. Current subscriptions are visible on the Home page of WRDS after logging in.

Please note: Data availability may change depending on current researcher needs and vendor policies. 

WRDS Data Subscriptions Available at Yale

This list is current as of September 26, 2022

Audit Analytics

Audit + Compliance

Includes data on audit fees and opinions, auditor changes and engagements, benefit plan options, disclosure controls, internal controls, financial restatements, and more. 

Corporate + Legal 

An integrated collection databases focusing on actions, disclosures, and correspondence by companies, advisors, regulators, and investors.

Data may be accessed on the auditanalytics.com platform as well. Yale users can register for an account with a valid Yale email address at https://go.auditanalytics.com/academic-registration. Coverage begins in 2000.

Bank Regulatory

Contains five databases for regulated depository financial institutions:  Commercial Bank DatabaseBank Holding Companies Database, FDIC/OTS Database (Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation/FDIC and the Office of Thrift Supervision, OTS), Merger Description Database, and Research Information System (RIS) Database. These databases provide accounting data for bank holding companies, commercial banks, savings banks, and savings and loans institutions. The source of the data comes from the required regulatory forms filed for supervising purposes. More information is available at http://www.whartonwrds.com/datasets/bank-regulatory/

 

Blockholders

This dataset contains standardized data for blockholders of 1,913 companies. The data was cleaned from biases and mistakes usually observed in the standard source for this particular type of data. Blockholders' data is reported by firm for the period 1996-2001. The data cleaning procedure is explained in detail by Jennifer Dlugosz, Rudiger Fahlenbrach, Paul A. Gompers, and Andrew Metrick in their study "Large Blocks of Stocks: Prevalence, Size, and Measurement".

 

CBOE Indexes

The Chicago Board of Options Exchange Volatility Index (VIX - index) is a key measure of market expectations of near-term volatility conveyed by S&P 500 stock index option prices. 

 

Compustat - Capital IQ (from Standard & Poor's)

Data from S&P is grouped in the following categories:

Compustat

Fundamental and market information for active and inactive publicly held companies. Data available includes North America - DailyGlobal -  DailyBank - DailyHistorical Segments - Daily, and Snapshot - Monthly Updates. Data coverage: 1950 - present. 

Also includes Execucomp - Monthly Updates.  Execucomp features executive compensation for S&P 1000 firms, including base salary, bonus and stock option data. Data coverage: 1992 - present. 

Capital IQ

Select data from Capital IQ is available via the WRDS platform, including: 

  • Transactions, featuring details on M&A and IPOs.
  • Key Developments, provide structured summaries of news and events that may affect the market value of securities. It monitors over 100 Key Development types including executive changes, M&A rumors, changes in corporate guidance, delayed filings, SEC inquiries, and more. Each Key Development item includes announced date, entered date, modified date, headline, situation summary, type, company role, and other identifiers. Coverage: 1998 - 2014, but varies depending on specific event. 
  • Capital Structure provides extensive debt capital structure for over 60,000 global public and private companies and equity capital structure data on over 80,000 active and inactive companies worldwide. Data coverage for Debt: 2001-2019. Data coverage for Equity 1994 - 2019.
  • People Intelligence covers over 4.5 million professionals and over 2.4 million people including private and public company executives, board members, and investment professionals, globally. Each professional in the Capital IQ database has a distinct profile which can include contact details, biography, education, job functions and titles, board memberships, compensation, insider activity, and options holdings.  

SNL Financial Institutions and Bank Data (also known as FIG)

Includes comprehensive fundamental coverage of banking institutions and insurance companies. Bank fundamental coverage provides detailed insights into performance analysis, asset quality, regulatory capital, and deposit/loan composition while Insurance fundamentals provide increased insight into investment level details, underwriting analysis, solvency, embedded value, and distribution channels.
Data Coverage: USA data is back to 1981. International bank coverage goes back to at least 2010 with many of the significant institutions in Europe dating to 2005 and Asia-Pacific to 2008. 

Trucost and S&P Global ESG Scores

S&P's ESG and Trucost data is a mix of scores, indicating how well a company does in a given dimension, and impact, measuring tangible amounts of waste produced and resources used. The ratings come from an acquisition of RobecoSAM in 2019. Trucost was acquired by S&P in 2016. The database is divided into the following three parts: 

  • ESG Scores contain criteria scores (most granular) dimension scores, and global ESG scores (most aggregated). Examples include supply chain management and eco-efficiency (criteria scores) and environmental & governance (dimension scores). Each company will have only one global ESG score per year. 
  • Trucost Environmental data reflects actual amounts of resouces used and are not scores. Greenhouse gases (abbreviated as GHG) are measured in metric tons of C02 equivalent, water is measured in cubic meters, electricity is measured in giga watts, etc. Usage is reported by scope.
  • Trucost Climate Analytics  Through company-level analysis, assess exposure to seven climate-change physical risk indicators, analyze exposure to carbon pricing risk under different future climate change scenarios and evaluate alignment with the Paris Agreement goal to limit global warming to well below 2 degrees C from pre-industrial levels.

 

Center for Research in Security Prices (CRSP)

Security-level historical pricing, returns, and volume data on more than 20,000 stocks (inactive and active companies) from the NYSE, AMEX, and NASDAQ markets, dating back to 1925 (monthly data) and 1962 (daily data). CRSP also includes United States market indices, treasuries, and mutual funds, and a merged database with S&P's Compustat data.

 

I/B/E/S 

I/B/E/S, the Institutional Brokers' Estimate System, is a database from Thomson Reuters. It is an historical earnings estimate database containing analyst estimates for more than 20 forecast measures - including EPS (earnings per share), revenue, price targets, EBITDA and pre-tax profits - available on both consensus and detailed levels, covering both U.S. and international companies. The database also includes buy-hold-sell recommendations. More information is available at https://wrds-www.wharton.upenn.edu/pages/support/manuals-and-overviews/i-b-e-s/ibes-estimates/general/wrds-overview-ibes/.

 

Infogroup 

Infogroup U.S. Historical Businesses Data contains establishment-level data for more than 24 million businesses, including the business name, location, and industry classification code with coverage dating back to 1997. A subset of this data (2003 - present) is available in ReferenceUSA.

 

ISS: Institutional Shareholder Services 

Yale subcription is for U.S. Voting Results Data. Includes all governance shareholder proposals and all non-routine management proposals
for obtained vote results. Coverage universe: S&P 1500 (from 1998 - present) and most U.S. Public Companies (from 2003 - present). 

 

Markit

Major source for credit default swap data. 

Includes the following datasets: 

  • Markit CDS data: CDS pricing data on approximately 3,000 individual entities, with coverage dating back to 2001
  • Markit RED data: Provides the scrubbed long legal name for more than 1,000 reference entities each with a unique six-digit identifier and RED also establishes a link between the scrubbed reference entities and reference obligations which that entity may have issued or guaranteed. Each pair of reference entities and reference obligations has their own unique nine-digit identifier or CLIP
  • Markit CDX data

 

Mergent FISD

A comprehensive database of publicly offered U.S. bonds containing issue details on over 140,000 corporate, corporate MTN (medium-term note), supranational, U.S. Agency, and U.S. Treasury debt securities and includes more than 550 data items.  Data coverage begins in 1950.

 

OptionMetrics

Premier provider of historical options data for use in empirical research and econometric studies. Provides historical prices of options and their associated underlying instruments, correctly calculated implied volatilities, and option sensitivities. Coverage: Data on all US exchange-listed and NASDAQ equities and market indices, as well as on all US-listed index and equity options, starting from January 1996.

 

Preqin 

Preqin is a leading provider of data on alternative assets. It is best known for its venture capital (VC) and private equity (PE) databases, which are currently available on WRDS.

 

RepRisk

Provides ESG and reputational risk data on 200,000+ public & private companies from all sectors and countries. Also includes risk metrics and underlying scores to assess and benchmark the risk exposure and business conduct of companies. Coverage begins in 2007.

 

Trades and Quotes - TAQ 

Contains intraday transactions data (trades and quotes) for all securities listed on the New York Stock Exchange (NYSE), American Stock Exchange (AMEX), as well as Nasdaq National Market System (NMS) and SmallCap issues. Data coverage: 1993 - present. 

 

Thomson / Refinitiv

The following data from Refinitiv is available:

  • Datastream (Equities, Economics, Commodities, and Futures data)
  • Lipper Hedge Fund Database: Quantitative performance data on over 7,500 actively reporting hedge funds and funds of hedge funds, plus over 11,000 graveyard funds.
  • Mutual Fund Holdings - (s12)
  • Institutional Holdings - s34
  • Insiders Data
  • Refinitiv ESG
  • SDC Platinum M&A
  • Worldscope
  • WRDS-Reuters DealScan

TRACE - OTC Corporate Bond and Agency Debt Bond Transaction Data

TRACE is FINRA's over-the-counter (OTC) corporate bond market real-time price dissemination service. Bringing transparency to the corporate bond market, it helps create a level playing field for all market participants by providing comprehensive, real-time access to corporate bond price information. 

Librarians for Business & Management

Profile Photo
Business and Management Librarians
Contact:
Marx Science and Social Science Library
Yale University Library
219 Prospect Street - Concourse Level

Schedule an appointment

Website

Data Librarian

Profile Photo
Barbara Esty
Contact:
Yale University Library
Office: Rosenkranz Hall (RKZ) 03
203-432-4587