Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Global (Public Health) Databases
African HealthLine is part of the Africa-Wide Information database. To limit your search to African HealthLine, select the advanced search option and choose sources from the "Data Contributor" drop-down menu. There's a list of collections under "African HealthLine" that can be selected either individually or as a group (using the CTRL key).
Citations to agricultural literature.
CAB Abstracts give access to literature from 1973 onwards, with over 380,000 abstracts added each year. Its gives comprehensive international coverage of the applied life sciences includes agriculture, environment, veterinary sciences, applied economics, food science and nutrition.
It includes less well-known and non-English journals and those published by independent and learned publishers. With publications from over 120 countries in 50 languages, it includes English language abstracts for most articles offering the fullest global picture for any subject.
Environmental Science Collection (ProQuest)
This database is multidisciplinary and provides comprehensive coverage of the literature relating to environmental sciences dating from 1967 to the present. Abstracts and citations are drawn from over 6,000 serials. Beyond the mainstream peer reviewed journals in this field this resource also provides abstracts of hard-to-get, low circulation grey literature publications (conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications), sometimes with links back to the full text (typically open access repositories). The database also includes good coverage of international content including non English language content. Also includes over 10,000 Environmental Impact statements.
GIDEON - Global Infectious Disease & Epidemiology Network
A global infectious disease database designed to assist in diagnosing infectious diseases and staying current on the latest trends in epidemiology and treatment. Used for diagnosis and reference in the field of tropical and infectious diseases, epidemiology, microbiology and antimicrobial chemotherapy. GIDEON has 2 modules: Infectious Diseases and Microbiology.
The database covers all aspects of public health at both international and community levels, as well as a wealth of material from other biomedical and life science fields. It captures key literature not covered by other databases and includes journal articles, reports, books and conferences from 1973 to the present. Publications from over 100 countries in 50 languages are abstracted, with over 96% of these records including an English abstract. All relevant non-English-language papers are translated to give access to research not available through any other database.
Household Products Database
This database links over 16,000 consumer brands to health effects from Safety Data Sheets (formerly Material Safety Data Sheets), provided by manufacturers and allows scientists and consumers to research products based on chemical ingredients.
HSTAT - Health Services/Technology Assessment Texts
Maintained by NIH and the National Library of Medicine, HSTAT is a resource of full-text documents that provide health information and support health care decision making. Includes AHRQ evidence and technology reports, NIH Consensus Conference Reports and Technology Assessment Reports, plus other critical government reports. For more information of coverage copy and paste this link: https://www.nlm.nih.gov/pubs/factsheets/hstat.html
LILACS (Latin American and Caribbean Health Sciences)
LILACS has been published since 1982 and registers the health scientific-technic literature published by Latin American and Caribbean authors, often not found in other international databases. It includes theses, books, books chapters, congresses or conferences annals, scientific-technical reports, journal articles, etc, related to health area.
World Health Organization - Regional Information
Janene Batten - Nursing Librarian, Cushing/Whitney Medical Library
Barbara Esty - Data Librarian, Marx Science and Social Science Library
Kaitlin Throgmorton - Data Librarian for the Health Sciences, Cushing/Whitney Medical Library