Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Fourth International Conference on Grey Literature (GL '99) in Washington, DC, in October 1999 defined grey literature as follows: "That which is produced on all levels of government, academics, business and industry in print and electronic formats, but which is not controlled by commercial publishers."
National Quality Measures Clearinghouse
A public resource for evidence-based quality measures and measure sets. NQMC also hosts the HHS Measure Inventory.
NYAcademy of Medicine Grey Literature Reports
This report was a monthly publication produced by the The New York Academy of Medicine for the years 1999 - 2016. It contains grey literature publications in health services research and selected urban health topics.
As of January 2017, the Grey Literature Report website and database was discontinued meaning that it will no longer be updated. However the resources are still be accessible.
Contains records of digital resources from open-archive collections worldwide
The Commonwealth Fund
Supports independent research on health care issues and makes grants to improve health care practice and policy. An international program in health policy is designed to stimulate innovative policies and practices in the United States and other industrialized countries. [from The Commonwealth Fund Mission Statement]
The Hastings Center
Addresses fundamental ethical issues in the areas of health, health care, life sciences research, and the environment as they affect individuals, communities, and societies. The Center examines advances in the biological sciences, the technologies those sciences have spawned, and debates about how to use them humanely and fairly. We accomplish our mission by producing original research, developing public engagement, and providing service to the field of bioethics. [from Hastings Center Mission Statement]
The Urban Institute
Builds knowledge about the nation’s social and fiscal challenges, practicing open-minded, evidence-based research to diagnose problems and figure out which policies and programs work best, for whom, and how.
A searchable, browseable website set up to collect and share the social sector’s knowledge [from The IssueLab About page]
Government Departments etc.
AIR - American Institutes for Research
Important source of social research, including social interventions in education, health, and employment
GAO - U.S. Government Accountability Office
Audit, evaluation, and investigative arm of the U.S. Congress
Information about ongoing health services research and public health projects
Non-profit, non-partisan, social policy research organization which assembles evidence of the effectiveness of U.S. social programs targeting low-income individuals and families.
NIH RePORTer (formally CRISP)
Searchable database of federally funded biomedical research projects conducted at universities, hospitals, and other research institutions, maintained by the National Institutes of Health
Social Security: Research, Statistics, and Policy Analysis
Carries out research for the U.S. Government's Social Security Administration
What Works Clearinghouse
Reviews the research on the different programs, products, practices, and policies in education. Focuses on the results to answer the question “What works in education?
Institutes et al.
- Institute on Research for Poverty "is dedicated to advancing understanding of the causes and consequences of U.S. poverty and inequality. It collects and analyzes information, continually updated from state and national data and special-purpose studies, on the evolving condition of low-income individuals and families and policies and programs to improve their well-being and increase self-sufficiency."
Janene Batten - Nursing Librarian, Cushing/Whitney Medical Library
Barbara Esty - Data Librarian, Marx Science and Social Science Library
Kaitlin Throgmorton - Data Librarian for the Health Sciences, Cushing/Whitney Medical Library