Africa-Wide Information
Combines bibliographic databases from around the world to form a multidisciplinary aggregation offering coverage of all facets of African studies. It includes content from databases such as South African studies, African studies, and African HealthLine (which focuses on all aspects of health relating to Africa and other developing nations).
Africa Bib
Amalgam of bibliographic databases related to African studies, including geography, history, anthropology, women's studies, medicine, and health, with an emphasis on periodical literature published in Africa.
All Africa
This database aggregates and indexes content from over 125 African news organizations, plus more than 200 other sources.
Africa Yearbook
Covers major domestic political developments, the foreign policy and socio-economic trends in sub-Sahara Africa – all related to developments in one calendar year.
General Databases
Academic Search Premier
A general database for finding journal articles in many subject areas, including religion and philosophy.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials PLUS
Offers users access to a growing list of more than 450 full-text titles, including all of the full-text titles in ATLASerials (ATLAS), in many diverse areas of religion and theology, with full-text content in 16 languages from more than 30 different countries.
Dissertations & Theses @ Yale University
Searchable database of dissertations and theses in all disciplines written by students at Yale University from 1861 to the present. Full text PDF versions available for some titles from 1878. More recent years available in full text.
JSTOR
Provides complete electronic backfiles of core journals in a variety of subjects. Full text coverage begins at the first issue of each journal and usually ends within five years of the present. Relevant disciplines include philosophy and religion.
Online Journals
African Theological Journal for Church and Society
A scholarly journal publishing in any applicable theological discipline, focussing on the church and its role in societies within the African context. Launched in 2020 by NetACT (Network for African Congregational Theology). Open access.
Black Theology: An International Journal
Provides a forum for the articulation and expression of issues of faith among Black people across the world. Contributions explore the nature of the Black religious experience in relation to African, Caribbean, American, Antipodean or Asian origins and other relevant contexts.
Conspectus: The Journal of the South African Theological Seminary
A refereed theological e-journal published biannually by the South African Theological Seminary (www.sats.edu.za). The journal is a scholarly theological publication in the fields of Biblical Studies, Systematic Theology and Practical Theology.
Impact: Journal of Transformation
A multidisciplinary, peer reviewed journal published in English by the Institute for the Study of African Realities (ISAR), Africa International University, Nairobi, Kenya. It is a scholarly journal of research and opinions in the theological, Business, Humanities and Social Sciences.
International Journal of African Catholicism
An ecumenical interdisciplinary, peer-reviewed online journal that promotes discussion within the African Catholic community and dialogue between African and international scholars.
Journal of Africana Religions
Publishes critical scholarship on Africana religions, including the religious traditions of African and African Diasporic peoples as well as religious traditions influenced by the diverse cultural heritage of Africa
Journal of African Christian Biography
The Journal of African Christian Biography (JACB) publishes research on biographies of African Christians. The primary focus is on the role of local agents in the spread of Christianity in Africa. Open access. Scroll to the bottom to access each journal digitally.
Journal of African Missiology
This is a journal that Missio Africanus established to provide a critical scholarly commentary on the development of mission within African Christianity, and the study thereof, both in Africa and in the Diaspora.
Journal of African Studies and Sustainable Development
Many of the articles published by JASSD are beyond the school of theology; many articles, however, are pertinent to African Christian theology in either theory or praxis.
Journal of Religion in Africa
The Journal of Religion in Africa, founded in 1967 by Andrew Walls, is interested in all religious traditions and all their forms, in every part of Africa, and it is open to every methodology. Its contributors include scholars working in history, anthropology, sociology, political science, missiology, literature and related disciplines. It occasionally publishes religious texts in their original African language.
Tangaza Journal of Theology & Mission
Published by the School of Theology, Tangaza College, Nairobi. The journal is dedicated to research in the broad area of theological and religious studies and auxiliary fields
Websites
African Theology Worldwide
Developed in collaboration with scholars and librarians in Africa and around the globe, African Theology Worldwide is a growing, freely accessible online platform for African Christian Theology.
Afrobarometer
An African-led series of national public attitude surveys on democracy and governance in Africa.
Dictionary of African Christian Biography
An electronic, open-access resource that uses biography to document the 2000 year history of Christianity in Africa. This international, collaborative project is a response to the lack of historical information on the African figures who shaped this history.
Nagel Institute (Calvin University)
An educational research institute within Calvin University, focused on ways in which the study of African Christianity can change perspectives, foster knowledge, and reinvigorate Christian thought and practice.
Online Primary Sources
African Newspapers
Offers coverage of newspapers from all over Africa from 1800-1925.
British Online Archives
Digitized primary source collections support study and research of the territories colonised by Britain. Includes multiple sources on missions history in Africa.
Confidential Print: Africa (1834-1966)
Brings together documents relating to events in Africa generated by the British Foreign and Colonial Offices from 1834 to 1966. It includes files, letters, telegrams, treaties, and other texts on most countries and territories of Africa.
Day Missions Digital Collections: YDS Library
Part of the Yale Divinity Library Special Collections, it Includes over 400 periodicals on foreign missions published in Britain between the eighteenth century and the 1960s by missionary societies and commercial publishers.
East African Newspapers
Includes key newspapers from the region published between the 1940s and the early 2000s. This growing collection currently includes over 475,000 pages total from three titles: Daily Nation (Kenya), The Ethiopian Herald, and The Monitor (Uganda).
Missionary Archives from Lesotho, 1832-2006
Contains both the ethnographic and historical archives of the first missionary in Lesotho, D.F. Ellenberger, as well as the complete run of the bi-weekly magazine, the Leselinyana, from 1863 till 2006. Also includes historical maps, church archives, personal registers (birth, baptism, and marriage), missionaries’ correspondence.
Missionary Studies
Includes primary sources to missionary papers from all over the world, with a strong collection from Africa. Searchable by country.
Sabinet African Archives
A growing index of thousands of consolidated African archives as well as special collections consisting of manuscripts, newspaper clippings, photographs, articles and more, to researchers with an interest in Africa.
Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa
Focuses on the liberation struggles in Southern Africa, with an emphasis on Botswana, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, and Zimbabwe. Included are periodicals, nationalist publications, records of colonial government commissions, local newspaper reports, personal papers, correspondence, UN documents, out-of-print and other relevant books, oral histories, and speeches.
