Yale University Library Research Guides: African Christianity: Reference Works

Christianity in Africa

Routledge Companion to Christianity in Africa by Elias Kifon Bongmba (Editor) An analysis of the Christian tradition across the African continent and throughout a long historical span. The volume offers historical and thematic essays tracing the introduction of Christianity in Africa, as well as its growth, developments, and effects, including the lived experience of African Christians.
The Palgrave Handbook of Christianity in Africa from Apostolic Times to the Present (Online) by Andrew Eugene Barnes, Toyin Falola (editors) This comprehensive Handbook provides chapter length surveys of the history of Christian missions and Christian churches on the African continent since the time of Christ. The proposed collection of chapters therefore provides a set of scholarly starting points for a new set of narratives. The chapters collected here communicate an idea of Christianity as it has been embraced among African peoples at particular historical moments
The Routledge Handbook of African Theology (Online) by Elias Kifon Bongmba (Editor) This handbook charts both historical developments and contemporary issues in the formation and application of theologies across the member countries of the African Union.

Dictionary of African Christian Biography An electronic, open-access resource that uses biography to document the 2000 year history of Christianity in Africa. This international, collaborative project is a response to the lack of historical information on the African figures who shaped this history.

Bibliography in Contextual Theology in Africa by J.R. Cochrane, I.W. Henderson & G.O. West Although aimed at theologians and ministers in Africa, this is good introduction to resources on African theology. Abstracts are included. Currently only the first volume is available.
Call Number: Z7757 A24 B524 (LSF)
Bibliography on Local Church in Africa by Institute of Missiology Missio
Call Number: Folio Z7837.7 A35 B52 1989 (LC)
Bibliography on Small Christian Communities in Africa by Institute of Missiology Missio
Call Number: Folio Z7837.7 A35 B53 1993 (LC)

The Oxford Handbook of Modern African History (Online) by John Parker (Editor); Richard Reid (Editor) Looks at various facets of African history in the past 200 years.
The Oxford Handbook of the African Sahel (Online) by Leonardo A. Villalón (Editor) The focus is on the six countries at the heart of the Sahelian geographic space: Senegal, Mauritania, Mali, Burkina Faso, Niger, and Chad.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of African Thought (Online) by F. Abiola Irele (Editor); Biodun Jeyifo (Editor) Offers a comprehensive view of African thought, covering the intellectual tradition both on the continent in its entirety and throughout the African Diasporain the Americas and in Europe. Includes religious figures.

A Bibliography of the Bible in Africa (Trinity School for Ministry) Produced by Grant LeMarquand from Trinity School for Ministry. Lists all known works of biblical interpretation produced by Africans, for Africa, or about African interpretation. Last updated 2020.
Collaborative Bibliography of African Theology Includes resources on multiple subjects, ranging from Christology to biblical studies.
Historical Dictionaries of Africa Includes over 60 dictionaries covering nearly every country in Africa. Each dictionary includes multiple entries and extensive bibliographies.
Oxford Bibliographies: African Studies Includes over 190 bibliographies on various subjects in African studies, covering well-known figures, countries, and topics in the field.
Oxford Bibliographies: Black Theology Includes resources on black theology in Africa under the section "Black Theology in Global Contexts."
Resources for Africana Scholarship, Anti-Racism, and Minoritized Biblical Interpretation (Society of Biblical Literature) This page of bibliographic resources was developed for the 2020 Black Scholars Matter Symposia of the Society of Biblical Studies.

Christianity in Sub-Saharan Africa by Kenneth R. Ross (Editor); J. Kwabena Asamoah-Gyadu (Editor); Todd M. Johnson (Editor) This comprehensive reference volume covers every country in Sub-Saharan Africa, offering reliable demographic information and original interpretative essays by indigenous scholars and practitioners.
Christianity in North Africa and West Asia by Kenneth R. Ross (Editor); Mariz Tadros (Editor); Todd M. Johnson (Editor) This comprehensive reference volume covers every country in North Africa and West Asia, offering reliable demographic information and original interpretative essays by indigenous scholars and practitioners.