Yale University Library Research Guides: Biblical Studies Guide: Hebrew and Aramaic

Hebrew: Introductory Grammars

A Grammar for Biblical Hebrew by C. L. Seow This is a comprehensive revision of a popular Hebrew grammar textbook.
Basics of Biblical Hebrew Grammar by Gary D. Pratico; Miles V. Van Pelt; Pelt Pratico Basics of Biblical Hebrew takes the groundbreaking integrative approach of William Mounce’s widely used Basics of Biblical Greek and applies it to learning and teaching biblical Hebrew. This book makes learning Hebrew a natural process and shows from the very beginning how understanding Hebrew helps in understanding the Old Testament.
A Basic Introduction to Biblical Hebrew by Jo Ann Hackett Linguistics expert and long-time educator Hackett offers a robust introduction to biblical Hebrew grammar and the Masoretic text. The graded exercises from Hebrew to English are intended to introduce the student to the many possibilities of biblical Hebrew prose. Later lessons include texts taken from the Masoretic text of the Old Testament with footnotes to explain unusual or advanced formations.
The Cambridge Biblical Hebrew Workbook by Nava Bergman This workbook can be used together with any elementary Biblical Hebrew grammar, by students at colleges, seminaries or universities. It applies many of the tools of modern language acquisition to make learning this classical language an active and inspiring process. Well-known Hebrew names are used as a pedagogical aid to memorising grammar and vocabulary.

A Guide to Biblical Hebrew Syntax by Bill T. Arnold; John H. Choi This introduces and abridges the syntactical features of the original language of the Hebrew Bible or Old Testament. This Guide is an intermediate-level reference grammar for Biblical Hebrew.
A Biblical Hebrew Reference Grammar by Christo H. Van der Merwe (Editor); Jackie A. Naude (Editor); Jan H. Kroeze (Editor) This work is intended to serve as a user-friendly and up-to-date source of information on the morphology, syntax, semantics and programatics of Biblical Hebrew nouns, verbs, and other word classes.
A Grammar of Biblical Hebrew by Paul Joüon; T. Muraoka (translator) Already well-known in its two-volume first edition, this is the most extensive revision yet of Paul Joüon and T. Muraoka’s Grammar of Biblical Hebrew, one of the most complete Hebrew grammars available in English. This new revised edition brings the work up to the present by taking account of developments in our understanding of the Hebrew language during the intervening years.
Call Number: Marvin Pope Biblical Studies Ref. Room
Hebrew Syntax: An Outline by R. J. Williams Although the morphology and lexicon of Hebrew are reasonably well understood, its syntax has long been a neglected area of study. Syntax, the relationship of words to one another, forms, together with morphology, the material of grammar. Its relative importance varies according to the language considered.

The Dictionary of Classical Hebrew. I. Aleph. Revised Edition by David J. A. Clines Unlike previous dictionaries, which have been dictionaries of biblical Hebrew, it is the first dictionary of the classical Hebrew language to cover not only the biblical texts but also Ben Sira, the Dead Sea Scrolls and the Hebrew inscriptions.This Dictionary covers the period from the earliest times to 200 CE.
Call Number: DIVINITY, Trowbridge Reference Room, PJ4833 .D53 2018 Oversize
The Brown-Driver-Briggs Hebrew and English Lexicon by F. Brown; S. Driver; C. Briggs The most comprehensive Hebrew lexicon available to the English-speaking student.
Call Number: SML, Starr Main Reference Room, PJ4833 B68 1996
Hebrew and Aramaic Lexicon of the Old Testament by Ludwig Kohler; Walter Baumgartner; Ludwig Koehler; M.E.J. Richardson (Editor) A standard modern dictionary for Biblical Hebrew. In combining scholarly thoroughness with easy accessibility, this dictionary meets the needs of a wide range of users.
Call Number: Marvin Pope Biblical Studies Ref. Room

The Vocabulary Guide to Biblical Hebrew and Aramaic by Gary D. Pratico; Miles V. Van Pelt The Vocabulary Guide to Biblical Hebrew and Aramaic by Gary D. Pratico and Miles V. Van Pelt is intended to accompany Basics of Biblical Hebrew Grammar. For the beginning student it is an essential resource companion to aid in vocabulary memorization and acquisition. Updates in this second edition include the addition of a complete Aramaic word list and refinement of definitions.
Building Your Biblical Hebrew Vocabulary by George M. Landes (Arranged by) A classic resource for beginning Hebrew students. Designed to help beginning Hebrew readers acquire vocabulary quickly, this valuable teaching tool focuses on words that occur most frequently in the Hebrew Bible, while arranging them by roots and cognates allowing students to naturally expand their working vocabulary.
A Student's Vocabulary for Biblical Hebrew and Aramaic by Larry A. Mitchel A standard resource for students of Hebrew and Aramaic for over 30 years. This new edition has updated formatting and transliterations to be more useful for students in vocabulary acquisition. The book provides vocabulary lists of Hebrew words appearing ten times or more in the Hebrew Bible. A separate section contains all Aramaic words appearing in the Hebrew Bible. The lists are arranged according to word frequency.

New Englishman's Hebrew Concordance by George V. Wigram This concordance is an improved edition of The Englishman's Hebrew and Chaldee Concordance of the OT, the standard reference work first issued in 1843. Each word is coded to Strong's, thus allowing even those who do not know Hebrew the opportunity to use this work.