It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Yale libraries will be closed Nov. 25 – Jan. 5. Online services and access to library materials will continue. See COVID-19 library updates.
The guide presents an overview of library resources for the study of the British Empire at Yale. Emphasis in this guide is on the British metropole, especially British government and commercial entities. Below is a select list of guides reflecting to the geographic extent of the Empire.
The Bibliography of British and Irish History (BBIH) provides bibliographic data on historical writing dealing with the British Isles, and with the British Empire and Commonwealth, during all periods for which written documentation is available - from 55BC to the present. All titles included in The Royal Historical Society Bibliography on CD-ROM (Oxford: Oxford University Press, 1998) are included in the database (with the exception of unpublished theses).
Digitized primary source collections support study and research of the territories colonized by Britain as well as domestic British history. Collections range from colonial, missionary and transatlantic relations to twentieth century political and social development, covering over four-hundred years of world history.
Access to primary source documents from the India Office Records at the British Library in London. Containing royal charters, records of council meetings and resolutions, correspondence, legislation, lists of personnel, printed books, etcetera. This resource charts the history of British trade and rule in the Indian subcontinent and beyond from 1595 to 1947.
This resource brings together manuscript, printed and visual primary source materials for the study of 'Empire' and its theories, practices and consequences. The materials span across the last five centuries and are accompanied by a host of secondary learning resources including scholarly essays, maps and an interactive chronology.
Comprises diaries and journals, official and private papers, letters, sketches, paintings and original Indian documents containing histories and literary works on the subjects of Indian history, politics, and society. The collection focuses on the 18th and 19th centuries. The collection includes the writings of Governors-General, Commanders-in-Chief, Indian princes, soldiers, traders, missionaries, explorers, historians and authors of literary works, indigo farmers and tea and coffee planters.