Yale University Library Research Guides: Business & Management Research Guide: Career Resources

Career & Job Search Resources

GoinGlobal
Global career resource featuring: job search sources, work permit/visa regulations - including the searchable H1-B database, employment trends, salary ranges, cultural/interviewing advice, and more.
Vault
Career Research
Also called Firsthand or Career Insider
Features industry and function-focused Vault career guides, Vault rankings, articles about companies, interview advice, and more.
Current students, faculty, and staff can log in to Vault with their NetID.

Using existing lists are a quick and easy way to identify companies in a specific industry or with specific traits:

Examples of freely available rankings and lists:

2024 Global 100 by Corporate Knights - 100 Most Sustainable Companies of 2024
America's Best Startup Employers - Forbes list compiled by evaluating 2,500 U.S. businesses with at least 50 employees based on three criteria: employer reputation, employee satisfaction and growth.
B Corp Impact Data - Dataset containing impact data on Certified B Corporations. Published on Data.World by B Lab. Requires a free user account to download.
Culture 500 - An interactive index created at MIT that measures and compares the cultures of over 500 companies in the US.
Forbes Global 2000 - The world's largest public companies
Fortune 500 - 500 largest companies in the US
Impact Assets 50 - Impact Investment Funds
Inc 5000 - The 5,000 fastest-growing private companies in America
Interbrand Best Global Brands - Ranking the world's most valuable brands
The Best Management Consulting Firms - Annual ranking from Forbes with section/functional area filters
Top Innovation Consulting Firms - From Board of Innovation

Yale resources:

Vault (formerly called Firsthand) - Features access to the Vault lists of Top-Ranked Companies, covering a range of industries and functions. Includes lists for the Best Banking, Consulting, and Accounting Firms. Rankings include information on firm culture, compensation, and work-life balance. Current students and register for an account and sign in with their Yale NetID.
The Block Research - Features data and in-depth research and analysis on the digital asset landscape. The Ecosystem Maps provide a 30,000-foot view of an entire space (for example, stablecoins, blockchain gaming, or the NYC blockchain ecosystems) to quickly get up to speed on an ecosystem and bridge any potential knowledge gaps. Users must sign up using a valid Yale email address.
Impact Alpha - Features news and insights on global trends in impact investing and social impact in financial markets. The Data and Tools section includes tools for identifying target companies, including Fund Lists, Climate Finance Trackers, and Impact Space.
Competitor Lists in company profiles are available through Company Databases. Note: Competitors are identified for various reasons depending on the source.

Search for public and private companies by industry, location, size, and other criteria with the following databases.

Capital IQ
S&P Capital IQ provides both real-time and historical information on companies, markets, transactions, and people worldwide. Requires registering an individual account with a yale email address. Individuals that do not want to create an individual account can use S&P NetAdvantage for similar functionality.
Mergent Intellect
Directory of global business information that features access to private and public U.S and international business data, executive contact information, and industry research. Data is provided from D&B Hoovers.
Orbis
Database by Bureau Van Dijk with information on more than 400 million companies worldwide. Notable features include extensive coverage of private companies and corporate ownership structures.

Identify start-up or VC-backed companies with these databases.

CB Insights
CB Insights provides real-time information about global start-up companies and investors.
Requires users to sign up for an account using a Yale email address.
PitchBook
Features real time data to research and analyze companies, PE & VC deals, funds, investors and service providers across the entire private investment lifecycle.
Requires users to sign in with an @Yale.edu email address. Users will be directed to the Yale CAS sign-in page.
Do not click "Log in without SSO" even if you had an individual account previously. Commercial use is prohibited.
more...less...
Users are limited to 10 downloads per day and 25 downloads per month. (1 download = 1 row of data on an Excel file). Accounts will automatically be reset annually on May 31.

Search for nonprofit organizations by location, programs, and more.

Guidestar
Searchable directory of nonprofit organizations. Features operational and financial information plus analysts reports.

Search for private equity and hedge fund firms with the following databases.

Preqin
Source for current and historical data and research on private equity and other alternative investments. Can be used to generate lists of firms (fund managers).

Also try Capital IQ, CB Insights and Pitchbook.

FAQs about using library resources to build a target list of companies.

Research Industries

CFRA Industry Surveys - Available in Capital IQ
To access Industry Surveys from CFRA, hover over the the Markets tab, located on the navigation bar at the top of the page, then select the Industry Surveys link, located in the Market Research List .
First Research Industry Reports (via Mergent Intellect)
Industry profiles that include trends, benchmark data and call prep questions.
more...less...
You will be prompted to enter a valid @yale.edu email address to access First Research using Mergent Intellect. Also available in ABI/Inform Collection.
IBISWorld
Features research reports that provide industry overviews, key statistics, and analysis on market characteristics, operating conditions, current and projected performance, major industry participants, and more. Our subscription includes reports for the US (including State Reports and historical archive), Canada, Mexico, UK, and China. Over 70 global reports are also available.

Visit the Find Industry & Market Research page for additional resources.

Search for Contacts

Capital IQ
S&P Capital IQ provides both real-time and historical information on companies, markets, transactions, and people worldwide. Requires registering an individual account with a yale email address. Individuals that do not want to create an individual account can use S&P NetAdvantage for similar functionality.
Leadership Connect (Formerly The Leadership Library)
Find background and contact information on leaders in business, government, and nonprofits in the United States. Note: The export function is not available with our subscription.
Mergent Intellect
Directory of global business information that features access to private and public U.S and international business data, executive contact information, and industry research. Data is provided from D&B Hoovers.
PitchBook
more...less...
Users are limited to 10 downloads per day and 25 downloads per month. (1 download = 1 row of data on an Excel file). Accounts will automatically be reset annually on May 31.
Nexis Uni (Formerly known as LexisNexis Academic)
Includes full-text news and information service that provides access to newspapers, magazines, transcripts, business, and legal information. Also provides information on over 80 million companies and executive contact information.

Have questions? Ask us!

Management, Economics & Entrepreneurship Librarians

Email Me

Contact:

Marx Science and Social Science Library
Yale University Library
219 Prospect Street - Concourse Level

Schedule an Appointment

Subjects: Business and Management, Economics, Ethics, Politics, and Economics

SOM Workshop Handout

Building at Target List of Companies - 2024

Career Services and Support at Yale

SOM Career Development Office
Limited to SOM students.
SOM Alumni Career Resources
For SOM Alumni.
Yale College Office of Career Strategy

Compensation Data

Angel.co
Startup salaries and equity by role, location, skill, or market. Freely available site.
Salary Comparison Tool from Insider (Previously Business Insider)
A searchable database of the last three years of salary disclosures, collected from the USCIS website, curated to a range of more than 250 companies that Insider reporters regularly cover. Registration for an individual account is required. Instructions for locating the database are available here.
Preqin Private Capital Compensation and Employment Review
The latest edition of the Review, produced in collaboration with leading compensation specialist Ferguson Partners, features the latest trends and statistics from private capital firms around the world. Available through the Insights section of Preqin. Instructions for locating Preqin research reports are available here.
National Compensation Survey (Bureau of Labor Statistics)
The National Compensation Survey (NCS) is an establishment-based survey that provides comprehensive measures of (1) employer costs for employee compensation, including wages and salaries, and benefits, (2) compensation trends, and (3) the incidence of employer-sponsored benefits among workers. The NCS also collects data and produces estimates on the provisions of selected employer-sponsored benefit plans. Freely available site.

Business & Management Research Guide: Career Resources