AMED covers journal articles on allied and alternative health. Subjects covered include acupuncture, homeopathy, hypnosis, chiropractice, osteopathy, rehabilitation, herbalism, holistic treatments, Chinese medicine, occupational therapy, physiotherapy, and podiatry. Coverage is from 1985 to the present.

ArchiveGrid includes over 7 million records describing archival materials, bringing together information about historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more. With over 1,000 different archival institutions represented, ArchiveGrid helps researchers looking for primary source materials held in archives, libraries, museums and historical societies.

Natural medicines is a resource on dietary supplements, natural medicines, and complimentary, alternative, and integrative therapies.

Includes primary sources on patent medicine advertising, "alternative" medical movements, and more.

This database documents the rise of the twentieth-century public health system in the United States through correspondence, reports, pamphlets, ephemera, and more. Through primary sources that record the evolution and impact of public health legislation, policies, and campaigns at the local, national, and federal levels, this archive opens a new window on the roles played by key organizations and individuals to advance public health practices and outcomes. Collections include items from the Children’s Bureau, Committee on Public Health of the New York Academy of Medicine, rare public health pamphlets, and materials on national health care, medical economics and sociology, and other health policies. Items related to eugenics are also included.

Includes scientific articles about traditional medicine.

An international, peer-reviewed journal that aims to promote the scientific understanding of acupuncture and related treatments by publishing scientific investigations of their effectiveness and modes of action as well as articles on their use in health services and clinical practice.

American Anthropologist is the flagship journal of the American Anthropological Association, and has a number of articles on "folk" medicine.

The leading peer-reviewed journal providing scientific research for the evaluation and integration of complementary medicine into mainstream medical practice.

The Journal of Ethnopharmacology is dedicated to the exchange of information and understandings about people's use of plants, fungi, animals, microorganisms and minerals and their biological and pharmacological effects based on the principles established through international conventions. In recent years the preservation of local knowledge, the promotion of indigenous medical systems in primary health care, and the conservation of biodiversity have become even more of a concern to all scientists working at the interface of social and natural sciences but especially to ethnopharmacologists.

Includes many digitized reproductions of U.S. State Department and other collections from the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA).

Includes newspapers, correspondence, oral histories, and other primary sources from Chicago, Brooklyn, NY, and other U.S. cities. Click on the "Nature and Scope" link in order to read more about the archival materials contained in this database.

Primary sources in American social and cultural history. Includes some secondary sources too.

This collection brings together material on instructional, prescriptive, behavioral, and etiquette literature that defined standards of personal conduct for millions of Americans and reflected the prevailing social mores across the twentieth century. The collection contains over 150,000 pages of fully searchable handbooks, manuals, textbooks, etiquette guides, self-help books, instructional pamphlets, and how-to books that illustrate both how Americans actually behaved and how they felt they ought to behave.

The archive is the world's most extensive and complete archive of television news. Contains to television news broadcasts of the national networks since August 5, 1968. The core collection includes evening news from ABC, CBS, and NBC (since 1968), an hour per day of CNN (since 1995) and Fox News (since 2004).

Government agency that conducts and supports research and provide information about complementary health products and practices.

History of Science, Medicine, and Technology indexes journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book chapters, book reviews and dissertations in the history of science, medicine, and technology and allied historical fields, including disability studies.

America: History & Life, among other sources of American history, contains historical perspectives on disability and/or disabled persons. This database provides information on articles, books, book reviews, and dissertations on U.S. and Canadian history from prehistory to the present. For information on similar publications on non-U.S. and non-Canadian history from 1450 to present, use Historical Abstracts.

The primary resource to find resources on history. Covers scholarly literature published between 1955 and the present. Materials in many languages are indexed.

Project Muse has a variety of scholarly articles in the humanities and social sciences, such as cultural studies, history, political science, and more. Includes many e-books.

A major database of articles, books, book reviews, primary sources, and more. Humanities and social science material is heavily represented.

Covers general psychology and specialized basic, applied, clinical, and theoretical research in psychology in areas including animal behavior, cognition, memory, neuroscience, perception, physiological psychology, psycholinguistics, psychometrics, social and personality psychology.

Provides full text access to journals, reference works, books, and databases published by Wiley in all the science disciplines.

A major collection of approximately 55 newspapers with coverage from the 19th to early 21st century. Titles include the San Francisco Chronicle, Los Angeles Times, Washington Post, and New York Times.

Historical newspaper archive providing online access to thousands of historical newspapers, dating from the early 1700s into the early 2000s. Contains full runs and portions of runs of well-known regional and state titles to small local newspapers in the United States and other countries, including Australia, Canada, China, England, Guam, Ireland, Northern Ireland, Panama, Puerto Rico, Scotland, and Wales. Provides access to news, notices of birth, marriages and deaths.

This archive of American historical newspapers provides access to full-text, digitized versions of primary source material, Early American Newspapers, Series I, II, III, IV, and V. It includes titles from all 50 present states.

1991 to present

Ethnic American newspapers covers two centuries of immigrant life in the United States, from the early Republic's Open Door era to the era of Liberalization in the mid-1960s.

A collection of alternative press titles, many from the 1960s and 1970s (does not require access via the Yale network).

January 2001 to the present is available on the Yale Daily News web site.

If you are looking for women's medicine and health in popular magazines, this is a great resource! Includes major women's magazines like Cosmopolitan, Parents Magazine, Ladies Home Journal, Seventeen, Essence, and more, with coverage up to 2005. You can find advertisements by entering your search, and then using the "Document Type" category on the bottom left menu to select advertisements.