Douglas Clyde Macintosh, a professor of theology (1909-1942), was a Canadian Baptist who put YDS on the theological map (Waddle, 93). He was "in the tradition of Jonathan Edwards for seeking fruitful connections between religious belief, nature science, and moral philosophy" (92). He is also notable as the plaintiff in a U.S. Supreme Court case, which ruled that he could be denied citizenship as a result of being a conscientious objector. 

The Divinity Archives' collection includes his correspondence, writings and manuscripts, notes, and personal materials, including documents related to his citizenship case.

Explore Record Group 50 (5.5 lin. ft., 10 boxes).

Paul L. Holmer was a professor of philosophical theology for nearly three decades at YDS (1960-1987). He specialized in Kierkegaard, writing a number of books on him. He also served as the treasurer of the Swenson-Kierkegaard Memorial Trust, was on the editorial boards of various magazines and journals, and lectured across the country.

The Divinity Archives' collection from Holmer includes his writings, many undated notes and course-related materials, correspondence, other memorabilia, and collected materials of writings by others.

Explore Record Group 195 (16 lin. ft., 39 boxes).

A professor of religious studies, Hans W. Frei (1957-1988) worked in the realms of theology, biblical hermeneutics, and history. He was also a major figure in the postliberal movement in theology, alongside his colleague George Lindbeck.

The Divinity Archives' collection focuses on the last two decades of Frei's life, from correspondence (more or less all professional), to documents from his professional activities, writings, and other various items, including personal ones.

Explore Record Group 76 (12 lin. ft., 28 boxes).

Margaret A. Farley, a professor of Christian ethics (1971-2007), was the first woman to gain tenure at YDS. Her arrival at YDS "was epoch-making" (Waddle, 153), as it was one of the significant moments of the early 70's in changing the campus's male-centered atmosphere (see 151-154). Her professional work focused on feminist and sexual ethics as well as environmental ethics and bioethics.

The Divinity Archives' collection includes course-related materials, writings, presentations and lectures, and other documents, including personal ones.

Explore Record Group 29 (23 lin. ft., 56 boxes).