Born in Virginia (now West Virginia), Charles Reynolds Brown was a Congregational clergyman in California (1896-1910) and Dean of YDS (1911-1928). During his time as dean, enrollment and funds more than doubled. He also continued to write as well as teach homiletics and pastoral care. With "a genial personality," students "sought his advice on everything from the problem of evil to the problems of dating" (Waddle, 96).
The Divinity Archives' collection includes his personal and professional correspondence, notebooks, writings, sermons, and memorabilia.
Explore Record Group 37 (9 lin. ft., 7 boxes).
Charles W. Forman taught missions at YDS for 34 years (1953-1987), with a brief stint as the Acting Dean (1961-1963). He was also chairman of the Theological Education Fund of the World Council of Churches (1965-1971), chairman of the Commission on Ecumenical Mission and Relations of the Presbyterian Church (1965-1971), and chairman of the Foundation for Theological Education in Southeast Asia (1970-1989).
The Divinity Archives' collection for Forman is part of his larger family's papers, from him to his father and grandfather (with whom he shared a name).
Explore Record Group 110 (6 lin. ft., 15 boxes).
Liston C. Pope was Dean of YDS from 1949-1962, during which time the faculty doubled and "five new residential buildings on campus" were erected. As a social ethicist and expert on labor relations, he was "the first YDS dean to make racial justice a central theme in his writing" (Waddle, 120).
The Divinity Archives' collection is focused on his professional work, from correspondence to speeches and notes, but includes plenty of personal material, such as diaries and memorabilia.
Explore Record Group 49 (36 lin. ft., 87 boxes).